Egg Drop Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Love eggdrop soup don't really need the corn starch and if its to salty add alittle sugar .... Those of u who like the crouton strips on top jus cut wonton wraps in strips and fry.taste great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Just adding a side note, the crunchy things that they give you at restaurants to put in this soup are fried wontons. You can buy them at the grocery store and just cut them into strips and deep fry them or bake them in a pan with cooking spray at 350 for 20 min. You can always of course make your own wonton dough from scratch: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/wonton-wrappers/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmerZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Right before the egg drop I went ahead and added approximately two more tablespoons of cornstarch (mixed in a little cold water before adding of course) because the broth was looking thinner than I liked. I also increased the quantity of eggs up to 2. It came out perfect. If you like a thinner soup, stick with the original recipe. If you prefer a thicker soup, increase the cornstarch. I followed user suggestions and added a splash of soy sauce and sesame oil. Restaurant-quality indeed! Very well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Simple to make. Not bad, but not as good as Chinese restaurant soup either. Too thin, and too bland if prepared as is. Needs to be jazzed up with additional ingredients (ginger, soy sauce, black sesame oil, extra cornstarch, more green onions) to make it like a restaurant soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Quick and Easy I liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACollins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Very good, but needs to be a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
LIke others here, I added ginger, soy sauce sesame oil and added another egg. Super easy & very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This recipe is a good base. I added a litte sesame oil and soy sauce. I think that I will use a homemade stock the next time. I think that is the key to good egg drop soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLAME673

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was a good base,but I added a few things to make it taste more like what I'm used to. I added a few drops of sesame oil, 2 eggs, & 2-3 sliced criminis. I fried a small white onion in stir fry oil until very crisp & topped each bowl w/them. Made all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is a great base for egg drop soup like restaurants have. To make it a little more, here's what I did differently: 1. Added 1Tbs of soy sauce and a few dashes of ginger (about 1/4-ish tsp.) 2. I also wanted some of the sesame oil flavor in most egg drop soups, but I can never seem to get the ratio right. In order to do this, I actually cooked some chicken cut into matchstick strips and cooked that in a bit of sesame oil, then added that to the soup. I'd say a teaspoon of oil roughly. Also MAKE SURE you add your cornstarch BEFORE eggs, otherwise, the eggs get all puffy instead of stringy like restaurant soup. I'll definitely be making this again. Perfect for our snowy winter evenings :) Even the little one loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Hill, California, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States