Egg Drop Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Tasty and easy. I made a few substitutions - saute shallots, a little ginger, and garlic to start. I also added peas as someone suggested. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I wanted something fast and easy to make with the limited food items I have in my fridge (I need to go grocery shopping). I pulled out my eggs, originally thinking of making an omelette, but then I got a hankering for egg drop soup, so I looked it up. I'm impressed! I used low sodium boullions and I didn't have any corn start, so I used a little bit of wheat flour. I also threw some spinach in the pot. I don't know how authentic it is to add spinach to egg drop soup, but it left my tummy full and my taste buds happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bekah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I just finished making Shrimp Fried Rice and decided to make some Egg Drop Soup to go along with our meal. This was my first time making this recipe and it turned out great! Like others, I did make a few changes--a few drops of sesame seed oil and soy sauce. I didn't have any cornstarch on hand so I did whisk a little flour into the broth instead. Then, added the eggs. We had some egg roll wraps handy so we cut them up into thin strips, fried them, and crumbled them into the soup. Everyone was extremely happy with this meal. Very quick and easy. Just as good as any Chinese restaurant! Thanks Denise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This recipe was great! I made just a few changes being we eat mostly vegetarian. I used garbanzo bean flour to replace the cornstarch, which gave it an earthier flavor. I also used about a cup & a half of frozen peas, & a cup of chopped green scallions. My family said it was deeeeeelicious!!!! They told me to put it in the Keeper recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rexmont, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Easy and oh-so-good! I use less minced onion. Great to make for yourself when sick too. Good, quick substitute for chicken noodle soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Rae

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Easy but bland. This is a great base for egg drop soup, the consistency came out great. But the first batch I made had no flavor what so ever. The second time was so much better. I replaced the minced onions with fresh green onion. Then I added chili garlic paste, mirin, rice vinegar and frozen peas. I also did 3 egg whites and one whole egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I made this by request of my sick husband. It was quick and easy. I'm not a huge fan of egg drop soup, but he said it was one of the best he's ever had. I'm sure I'll make it for him again. It's a simple one to make him happy! I followed it exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiviaDesigns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This is the easiest egg drop soup I've made and it's good! I used a ratio of one can of chicken broth and 2 eggs to make it a little more filling. Green onion instead of minced was nice because it added color along with the taste. And I shook in a few drops of hot pepper sauce at the end along with the soy sauce. To make nicely shaped egg "shreds" in the soup, stir the broth in ONE direction. Slowly add the egg while stirring in that same direction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This tasted great! Very comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Osakis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States