Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I love this egg drop soup...when you have nothing in the house, this is the soup! My family thinks it's plain but "it's egg drop soup!" I think this version has good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAKGAMBIT
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Great recipe as is or for extra sweetness add a tsp of honey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAKGAMBIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I felt this needed a LOT more seasonings. Not to our taste. Thank you for sharing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Yum! Everyone loves it at my house, even the guests. I've made it a couple of times just as listed except I used olive oil in place of the sesame oil. I will be putting sesame oil on my grocery list though so I'll have it for next time. I'm sure it will change the taste a little. This one will be a regular in my recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Cullum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Great recipe! i doubled it and accidently read it as THREE tsps of soy sauce and three 1/4 tsps of sesame oil and it still tasted great! didnt add food coloring - its not necessary and used green onions instead of chives. i omit the ground white pepper and instead let the people put it into the serving bowls separately - ppl have different levels of spiciness ;] will make again. very easy, delicious, and comforting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Exactly as desired! We followed the advice of other commenters and halved the soy sauce. I might toss in a tiny bit of ginger next time, but maybe not - this really was just what we wanted, and ridiculously easy to boot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Great, easy, try less starch(half) for a thinner soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I did not care for the first batch because we found the sesame oil to be overpowering. But maybe we just don't like sesame oil? So the second batch I made with buillon cubes because I was out of broth and I left out the sesame oil. Then it was pretty good! Oh, and I also halved the amount of egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I really do hate to give recipes bad reviews, but this just didn't work out as great as I thought it would. I was kinda of hoping it would be 'Better than Resteraunt Quality' like the title said, but it was nothing like any egg drop soup i've ever had. I'm not saying that that's a bad thing, because it definetly had a unqueish flavor that wasn't all that bad, but I was just hoping for a more authentic eggflower soup. If i made it again I would definetly not add the sesame oil,because it made the whole soup taste like sesame oil; so I aDDED more soy sauce. also, more chives could be added, and instead of white pepper, I used just plain ground black pepper. sorry for the kinda sortaish bad review, but thank you for reading!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kira

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Was very good. I omitted soy sauce to save on salt intake. Added chicken bouilion to add more chicken flavor, but was little too salty for our taste. Will cook this again,, makes for nice hot soup on cold day. Thanks for recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACEY5

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States