Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
A little overboard on the white pepper, I'd reduce to at least half and use a tad bit more soy sauce. I also find using just the whites of the egg provides a less chewy and better consistency of the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Snyder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Thanks.Followed recipe exactly,came out very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson Billiel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This Egg Drop Soup was surprisingly more delicious than I had anticipated. I made mine with homemade chicken stock and left out the cornstarch and food dye. I poured the hot chicken stock and seasonings (soy sauce and sesame oil) directly on top of the beaten egg (same bowl for beating eggs and serving soup) to save washing dishes. The egg cooked instantly. Thank you Darren for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Half teaspoon of white pepper is WAY too much. I tried to dilute it by multiplying the recipe minus the white pepper to no avail. Made a fresh pot without any white pepper, and it was good. I do like white pepper, but that was overkill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Smiley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
It was good, and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clayton, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I wouldn't say it's better than the restaurant but it's pretty darn good for being so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I changed quite a few things to make this extra delicious. Instead of chicken broth, I used 1 tsp better than bouillon. If you do use better than bouillon, I suggest only salting to taste since it has quite a bit of salt in it already. I also did not use ground pepper, but used a squirt of siracha (or any hot chili sauce) to give it a kick. So gooooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Shirley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Great recipe! Simple & easy to make but I wish I had fresh chives. But it was good without out. I used 2 eggs instead of 1 which was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Fast and easy! I agree with other posters that the pepper is WAY too much. I used less than 1/2 tsp of pepper for double the recipe. I also omitted the food coloring as I didn't feel like it was necessary. It turned out well and I will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeeplette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Anna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States