Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I have had to make this twice in the last two days. My family really liked it. I did add a little more soy and sesame oil and used black pepper. The first time I x3 the recipe this time I x5. PERFECT! I always have all the ingrdients on hand which makes it nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I was wanting some Egg Drop Soup, and this recipe looked like what I wanted. Wow! Awesome recipe! I'm allergic to corn, so I used Rice Flour instead, and I doubled the broth and added some udon noodles to it (which is why I added more broth). It was AWESOME! I recomend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katagator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
So simple and awesome! To me, the white pepper is a must. I load up on green onions on top, or stir in thawed frozen veggies... doesn't change the original flavor, just adds some healthy crunch. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Perfect as is....thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Crabtree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wynne, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Loved it! This was so simple & quick to make. It had better texture than than the soup from your average chinese place. I used low sodium soy sauce/chcken broth & seasoned it with salt at the end as needed. After reading other reviews, I decided to only add 1/8 tsp sesame oil. Dried chives worked well in this soup too. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
OMG this is some of the best soup ever!! Egg drop soup is one of my favorite soup and I always am looking for something better. This soup rivals my favorites at the local Chinese restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Aside from a little too much sesame oil, this recipe makes a very tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was pretty good, I chopped up some carrots, celery and mushrooms, I didn't have sesame oil so I used olive oil.. I think the added veggies really make this soup 'pop' =) I will make again.. with my added veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemhi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I 6x the recipe and thought 6 eggs would be too much. Tasted thin and brothy, so I added the rest of the 6 eggs which helped. Maybe cut the broth a little more and up the sesame oil and add more cornstarch. All and all, pretty good..just need to tweak a bit to suit my husband's taste. He loves egg drop soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mukamom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Living In: Talladega, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This recipe makes a great base to work with! I followed the recipe with a few slight changes. I added 1/2 can of whole kernal corn, used black pepper in place of white (I didn't have white pepper or the sesame oil which I omitted altogether) and I used 2 cans of chicken broth in place of the 1 cup...I was doubling the recipe. It turned out great, but was a bit too salty...due to the soy sauce which I think I will omit next time. I also think I will add the corn with juice and all to give the broth a sweeter, corn flavor. Even my 6 year old nephew and 3 year old daughter gobbled it up and asked for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States