Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This got my daughter's big seal of approval. Awesome soup!!! Loved the amount of egg! Gave it 5 stars, though, because we like it a bit thicker so I added a bit more cornstarch (3 tsps. extra for double the recipe) and we added corn. Will definitely be making this again! Will be adding mushrooms and tofu like the restaurant down the street!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desert Daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Perfect and oh so simple to make! I've always loved egg-drop soup but never quite found the trick to make it at home and have it taste like the restaurant-until NOW! The corn starch and probably the sesame oil are the "magic" ingredients which take this up to the perfecto level. One cup of this is hardly enough, I doubled the recipe using a can of chicken broth which is about 2 cups of liquid. Add some chow mein noodles on top and this is instant chinese heaven at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandyOSU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Thought it great,I precook alittle macaronie and when soup is done I drop macaronie in and makes it just a little more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgranados
Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Very good soup. I think the key ingredient is the sesame oil. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
If you use low sodium, no fat broth - you can use the soy sauce without making it really salty! My favorite way to make a meal out of it is to add some shrimp sauteed in garlic and cabbage to the soup - filling and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
was very bland I didn't enjoy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
The seasoning for the broth is great! We prefer less egg... maybe just one egg per three servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Versailles, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I'm surprised, (with so few ingredients) but this was really good! My picky kids loved it and said it was as good as our local Chinese restaurant. The only thing I changed was using a lot more cornstarch (at least double, maybe a bit more). And it was fast and easy! I have a feeling I'll be making this for the kids quite often! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoseanneM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Wow I'm not sure what made this so much better than the other egg drop soups I've made! Maybe the sesame oil, or that I was just really hungry ;) I loved this! I did not use the food coloring or cornstarch. So good, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Way to salty!! And this is coming from a person whos accused of salting foods to much. Was not restaurant quailty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdbooker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States