Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I just cooked it for my parents and they love it. It really is just like the restaurant egg drop soup. The serving suggested is tiny, I would make at least 2 servings per person (everyone was bummed when there wasn't any seconds). Also the chives aren't necessary if you don't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Great soup! I love having this soup at restaurants and I wanted to try to make it myself. Followed the recipe fairly closely; i didnt add any food coloring, chives, or pepper, didnt think it was needed. It still tasted great. Highly recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was FABULOUS!!! I would give it 10 stars if I could. It was quick and easy to prepare and very YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Patton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This got my daughter's big seal of approval. Awesome soup!!! Loved the amount of egg! Gave it 5 stars, though, because we like it a bit thicker so I added a bit more cornstarch (3 tsps. extra for double the recipe) and we added corn. Will definitely be making this again! Will be adding mushrooms and tofu like the restaurant down the street!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Perfect and oh so simple to make! I've always loved egg-drop soup but never quite found the trick to make it at home and have it taste like the restaurant-until NOW! The corn starch and probably the sesame oil are the "magic" ingredients which take this up to the perfecto level. One cup of this is hardly enough, I doubled the recipe using a can of chicken broth which is about 2 cups of liquid. Add some chow mein noodles on top and this is instant chinese heaven at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandyOSU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Thought it great,I precook alittle macaronie and when soup is done I drop macaronie in and makes it just a little more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgranados
Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Very good soup. I think the key ingredient is the sesame oil. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
If you use low sodium, no fat broth - you can use the soy sauce without making it really salty! My favorite way to make a meal out of it is to add some shrimp sauteed in garlic and cabbage to the soup - filling and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
was very bland I didn't enjoy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
The seasoning for the broth is great! We prefer less egg... maybe just one egg per three servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Versailles, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States