Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Great recipe! i doubled it and accidently read it as THREE tsps of soy sauce and three 1/4 tsps of sesame oil and it still tasted great! didnt add food coloring - its not necessary and used green onions instead of chives. i omit the ground white pepper and instead let the people put it into the serving bowls separately - ppl have different levels of spiciness ;] will make again. very easy, delicious, and comforting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Exactly as desired! We followed the advice of other commenters and halved the soy sauce. I might toss in a tiny bit of ginger next time, but maybe not - this really was just what we wanted, and ridiculously easy to boot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Great, easy, try less starch(half) for a thinner soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I did not care for the first batch because we found the sesame oil to be overpowering. But maybe we just don't like sesame oil? So the second batch I made with buillon cubes because I was out of broth and I left out the sesame oil. Then it was pretty good! Oh, and I also halved the amount of egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I really do hate to give recipes bad reviews, but this just didn't work out as great as I thought it would. I was kinda of hoping it would be 'Better than Resteraunt Quality' like the title said, but it was nothing like any egg drop soup i've ever had. I'm not saying that that's a bad thing, because it definetly had a unqueish flavor that wasn't all that bad, but I was just hoping for a more authentic eggflower soup. If i made it again I would definetly not add the sesame oil,because it made the whole soup taste like sesame oil; so I aDDED more soy sauce. also, more chives could be added, and instead of white pepper, I used just plain ground black pepper. sorry for the kinda sortaish bad review, but thank you for reading!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kira

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Was very good. I omitted soy sauce to save on salt intake. Added chicken bouilion to add more chicken flavor, but was little too salty for our taste. Will cook this again,, makes for nice hot soup on cold day. Thanks for recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACEY5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I just cooked it for my parents and they love it. It really is just like the restaurant egg drop soup. The serving suggested is tiny, I would make at least 2 servings per person (everyone was bummed when there wasn't any seconds). Also the chives aren't necessary if you don't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Great soup! I love having this soup at restaurants and I wanted to try to make it myself. Followed the recipe fairly closely; i didnt add any food coloring, chives, or pepper, didnt think it was needed. It still tasted great. Highly recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was FABULOUS!!! I would give it 10 stars if I could. It was quick and easy to prepare and very YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Patton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This got my daughter's big seal of approval. Awesome soup!!! Loved the amount of egg! Gave it 5 stars, though, because we like it a bit thicker so I added a bit more cornstarch (3 tsps. extra for double the recipe) and we added corn. Will definitely be making this again! Will be adding mushrooms and tofu like the restaurant down the street!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desert Daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States