Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This soup is perfect as is but PLEASE omit the optional food coloring. Try to avoid all food coloring if possible b/c it's poison (& parents wonder why their kids suffer from ADD/ADHD).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Positively yummy. So easy to make with such a delicious result. Had it for lunch with rice crackers. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marisol
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Here it is! And it came out Delicious! Very fast and easy! I didn't ad the yellow food coloring though. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
It tasted really good until I added white pepper. It really just ruined the soup. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
My son said this tasted nothing like egg drop soup. My daughter said it tasted like chicken broth with a hint of egg and she was right as I tasted it. It was gross....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Based on the reviews, I adjusted the recipe just a tad. I cut the soy sauce and sesame oil to 1/4 t, used fresh black pepper and substituted green onions for the chives. Oh, 1/2 t of cornstarch and 1 t of water. Thank you for posting this recipe....perfect for this blustery, chilled to the bone day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
A little overboard on the white pepper, I'd reduce to at least half and use a tad bit more soy sauce. I also find using just the whites of the egg provides a less chewy and better consistency of the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Snyder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Thanks.Followed recipe exactly,came out very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson Billiel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This Egg Drop Soup was surprisingly more delicious than I had anticipated. I made mine with homemade chicken stock and left out the cornstarch and food dye. I poured the hot chicken stock and seasonings (soy sauce and sesame oil) directly on top of the beaten egg (same bowl for beating eggs and serving soup) to save washing dishes. The egg cooked instantly. Thank you Darren for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Half teaspoon of white pepper is WAY too much. I tried to dilute it by multiplying the recipe minus the white pepper to no avail. Made a fresh pot without any white pepper, and it was good. I do like white pepper, but that was overkill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Smiley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States