Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
Very good. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginger Antuna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
You really nailed this recipe! It was so quick and simple and came out perfect with not a single flaw. Thank you for sharing your recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rpadgett2013

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
Awesome, simple recipe! I'm on a tight budget this week, and this was an excellent fix to my "what's for dinner?" panic last night (and delicious to boot). I substituted 1/4tsp Chinese Five Spice for the white pepper and the oil for a touch of aji-mirin, since I didn't have any, and it tasted great. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Fantastic and simple! I added a lot less pepper though. I love this soup so it's great I cAn make it at home now :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindz81

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
Easy and delicious, thank you Darren!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emendy613
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
Great recipe. Easy, quick. Just a few suggestions… 1: sauté the chives in the sesame oil then add the broth and the soy sauce. 2: don't bother with the food coloring and cornstarch. 3: add a little more soy sauce and it won't need salt. (I used mushroom flavored dark soy sauce)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I've made this twice now and loved it each time! It's so quick, easy and adjustable to your personal preferences and the ingredients you have on hand. The first time I made it I didn't have sesame oil, chives, or white pepper on hand. According to other reviews, I didn't add any salt. I subbed in some black pepper (not the full amount), and threw in some onion powder. It turned out really well but could have used a little extra salt (my bad). The second time I made it, I tripled it for my hubby and brother, both of whom raved. Still no chives or white pepper, but this time I did have sesame oil and it added a whole new dimension of flavor which I thought improved it. I put in the full amount of pepper (black), and it was definitely too much. I also put in 1/2 tsp of salt and that ratio seemed to work well. I threw in some more onion powder to add some extra flavor. Can't wait to try it this summer when my chives are ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Simple, easy, and very tasty. I am very picky when it comes to my egg drop soup and this soup was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This was delicious! Doubled the recipe and my bf and I had a delightful lunch! Made it with a mustard sardine gourmet sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
I have made several different egg drop soup recipes and this was the best! I didn't have any of the sesame oil and it turned out great. The only thing is I would double the recipe but only use one egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States