Egg Custard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Delicious just like mother used to make.i make this for friends and they enjoy it also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
It was good but it wasn't great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Easy & delicious! I doubled the recipe and added extra eggs (6 total because I wanted to use them up) and substituted jaggery for the white sugar because I didn't have whit sugar. I also baked it 1/2 hour longer. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I followed the directions exactly and somehow this turned out terrible. The consistency resembled scrambled eggs and it was incredibly soggy. We had to stick it in a strainer before eating. Won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
quick and easy. I cut back on the sugar and I still found it too sweet. I might only use half the amount stated here next time (I don't have a sweet tooth.) I steamed this instead of baking it to cut down on cooking time. Steaming took 15 min, low to mid fire. Don't be too generous with the cheap vanilla extract, if you are like me, using the cheap ones. I added only 2 drops and didn't like the chemical taste. I might leave it out altogether next time. I used ramekins and 2 eggs yielded 4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Try it with Fish Fingers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This is easy to make and tastes great. I'll make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dekkel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Dallas, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I subbed Splenda for sugar and used skim milk. Perfect diabetic dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I lost my custard recipe and am now making it again with regularity. All those other recipes say scald the milk, stir constantly and pour slowly into egg mixture yadda, yadda...........so not necessary. I don't ever remember doing that and I made custard for years when the kids were kids. This recipe is simple, easy and never fails. Can pop the whole thing, pan, water and all in 5 minutes. Now THAT'S a quick dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Easy and straightforward, this makes the traditional egg custard. The baking time was longer than mentioned in the recipe for me, and that may be because of my oven, so be sure to check the consistency before removing it from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

How to Fold in Egg Whites

Learn how to gently fold egg whites into melted chocolate and egg yolks.

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States