Egg Custard Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I used 3 eggs and NEVER scald my milk... Always use a 9 inch un-baked pie crust and nutmeg to dust the top of the pie... cooked at 425 for 10 minutes and then @ 325 for an add'l 35- 45 minutes... I always allow the pie to cool 1 hour on a rack and then refrigerate to cool... delicious....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wiggins, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I know this recipe, and most definitely it's still the best custard pie I've had. I had made one at Christmas and my sister sat down right next to me. As we reminised about Christmases past when our mom made all the goodies, we just couldn't wait until it cooled. We began to just nibble at first, but then it turned to bigger and bigger bites. Before we knew it, it was all gone. Of course when the kids came in from making "snow angels" they got the whiff of something good. hehehehe They were so disappointed to find out it was all gone. Since it's a really super easy pie to make, we ended up making three more later that night. One for my sister, one for me & one for the rest of them. Somehow, though, they didn't think that was fair.(I still laugh thinking about it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Delicious, so easy to make and my youngest son's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lndalentz54

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Good but there isn't a lot of filling. It isn't as thick as it is in the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This is an excellent 7" custard pie, perhaps my favorite, with just a little less nutmeg. I have made it a few times, and prefer the look and taste of this pie when just a pinch of nutmeg is sprinkled on top and not mixed in. Some cooks have complained that there is not enough filling. The recipe states it is a small 7" pie! To make this recipe as a standard 9" pie, increase the ingredients by 50%, making it 3 eggs, 3 T. sugar, and 1 7/8 cup milk. You might need to increase the last baking time slightly. Follow the instructions to heat the milk because it makes it bake more quickly and evenly. One of the nicest things about this version is the small amount of sugar, which allows the custard flavor to come through well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This recipe was pretty good. I like the fact that it only calls for 2T of sugar, but i did modify it a little. I used a 9 inch pie crust, used 3 eggs instead of 2 and used soy milk instead of milk and it turned out nicely. However, I'd probably omit the nutmeg next time as i thought it was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Excellent custard pie. I've made three batches since I found the recipe three weeks ago. This is the best recipe that I tried for Egg Custard Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
taste was fine but it absorbed into my tarts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I followed the recipe except I used 3 eggs. The liquid wasn't enough to fill the pie crust to the top so I mixed up half the recipe in a mixer bowl and added it to the mixture in the pie crust. The extra mix filled my 9" pie to the top. I'm baking it now in the oven. Will post a follow up after I taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I used graham cracker crumb crust - BAD IDEA. Half of it absorbed into the crumbs, the rest formed an omlette-like layer on top. Woops. I'm dealing with a husband that doesn't like pastry crust, so maybe what I need to do is make the custard pudding seperately, and dump it into a graham-cracker crumb crust before serving. I'll give that a go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States