Egg Custard Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I know this recipe, and most definitely it's still the best custard pie I've had. I had made one at Christmas and my sister sat down right next to me. As we reminised about Christmases past when our mom made all the goodies, we just couldn't wait until it cooled. We began to just nibble at first, but then it turned to bigger and bigger bites. Before we knew it, it was all gone. Of course when the kids came in from making "snow angels" they got the whiff of something good. hehehehe They were so disappointed to find out it was all gone. Since it's a really super easy pie to make, we ended up making three more later that night. One for my sister, one for me & one for the rest of them. Somehow, though, they didn't think that was fair.(I still laugh thinking about it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I used 3 eggs and NEVER scald my milk... Always use a 9 inch un-baked pie crust and nutmeg to dust the top of the pie... cooked at 425 for 10 minutes and then @ 325 for an add'l 35- 45 minutes... I always allow the pie to cool 1 hour on a rack and then refrigerate to cool... delicious....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wiggins, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Delicious, so easy to make and my youngest son's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lndalentz54

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
taste was fine but it absorbed into my tarts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Good but there isn't a lot of filling. It isn't as thick as it is in the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I used graham cracker crumb crust - BAD IDEA. Half of it absorbed into the crumbs, the rest formed an omlette-like layer on top. Woops. I'm dealing with a husband that doesn't like pastry crust, so maybe what I need to do is make the custard pudding seperately, and dump it into a graham-cracker crumb crust before serving. I'll give that a go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
It's a good, simple recipe! I make my own pie crust, and it pairs up nicely. I also use six egg yolks (left over from another recipe) instead of two eggs. Makes for a richer taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This recipe turned out great! The eater wanted something sweeter, so I doubled the sugar and used honey instead. Worked pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Excellent custard pie. I've made three batches since I found the recipe three weeks ago. This is the best recipe that I tried for Egg Custard Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This recipe was pretty good. I like the fact that it only calls for 2T of sugar, but i did modify it a little. I used a 9 inch pie crust, used 3 eggs instead of 2 and used soy milk instead of milk and it turned out nicely. However, I'd probably omit the nutmeg next time as i thought it was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States