Egg Custard Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I had a lot of excess butter and I had to cook it much longer than recipe said to get it finished. I did use a deep dish and made the serving 12. It tastes good though so I will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I peeled and sliced a couple bartlett pears and laid the slices on the bottom of a deep dish pie crust then poured the custard over it. The top cracked a bit (I used too many pears - would only recommend a thin layer on the bottom if a perfect looking pie is important) but the flavor combination was amazing. My grandpa, a professional baker, used to pour this kind of custard over apple pie filling or mincemeat filling for a layered looking, creamier version of holiday pies and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANCIEDREW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I've never had a custard pie before, so I didn't know what to expect, but it sounded easy, so I gave it a shot. Wow. Not only was the recipe as easy as it seemed, but it was absolutely delicious. I used a little less sugar because I don't like things super-sweet, but that's the only change I made. So yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I thought this pie was delicious! If you are not a big fan of nutmeg, I would only use half. I myself liked the flavor. I used skim milk (since that is all we buy) and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
In my opinion this pie has too much butter. When I took it out of the oven, I blotted lots of excess butter off the top with paper towels. Otherwise the pie is fine. Next time I will use a custard recipe with no butter. There are many on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I tried this recipe because it appeared to close to the egg custard pies my family made. The taste is good but I did use evaporated milk and half and half. Added more Vanilla and lightly sprinkled nutmeg on top for color. This pie has a crust on top which I wasn't expecting on both pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was my first attempt to make custard pie and I think it came out great. The filling was not enough to fill a deep dish which I prefer my custard pie to be thick. Next time I make it I will up it to 12 servings as suggested in another review. Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mskinue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
My pie went over well with people who like dense, eggy custard. Not so well with the people who like pudding-like custard. For what it's worth, I didn't have any issues with the butter as other reviewers did. It came out just fine. I used 1/4 tsp nutmeg and 1/4 tsp cinnamon, since I'm not a big nutmeg fan, and I was worried there would be an aftertaste (also worked fine). I used a frozen 9" "deep dish" pie crust, and the custard didn't quite fill it to the top. This is a nice pie, but make sure you like eggs and egg custard before making it (though I guess you shouldn't be looking at this recipe if you don't!). =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shopperooni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
OMG! This was better than I expected. I read reviews and knew I had to change the serving size because I had a deep dish crust. Made it 12 instead of 8. I had no milk so I used half and half instead. Also no nutmeg so I used cinnamon. I cooked at 350 degrees for the same amount of time about 55 minutes. It made such an unusual crust on the top. Fantastic! Im making one today for Xmas but with coconut. The half and half is what made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEDIUMRARE1826

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Charlestown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Awesomeness,les nutmeg for my brood but we loved it alot.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Bond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States