Egg Custard Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
It was delicious and easy to make except for a few minor issues... 1. TOO sweet. Next time I would use just 2/3-1/2 cup of sugar instead of the full 1 cup. 2. TOO LITTLE egg custard. The pie turned out to be really thing. Next time, I would double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
My husband loves this pie and it's simple too! I doubled the recipe and made custard cups out of the left over filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This was a first for me. I would never eat egg custard because I was assumed it had a LOT of eggs in it. I made this recipe for a very dear friend who is 88 years old. She said it was better than Piccadillys!!! My 10 year old said it was her favorite pie now! She is my picky eater. And I loved it, especially warm. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Demimi
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I wanted to make a custard to put fruit on top of, and this recipe was perfect. I omitted the nutmeg completely and added some vanilla extract and yellow food coloring and it was beautiful and light and delicious. It wasn't too sweet at all. I just put some blueberries, strawberries, and mango on top and voila! Quick warning: When mixing the flour with the other ingredients, don't just dump it in there. Mix all the other ingredients in first, and then slowly mix it or sift it in. I just threw them all in a bowl and ended up having to strain the mixture before I combined it with the eggs. Then I put the combined filling through a strainer again. It ensures a smoothly textured pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demimi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
creamy and light - a little too much nutmeg for my taste though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I was very pleased with this pie,looked very pretty. Next time i am to decrease the sugar and add more nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I had a lot of excess butter and I had to cook it much longer than recipe said to get it finished. I did use a deep dish and made the serving 12. It tastes good though so I will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I peeled and sliced a couple bartlett pears and laid the slices on the bottom of a deep dish pie crust then poured the custard over it. The top cracked a bit (I used too many pears - would only recommend a thin layer on the bottom if a perfect looking pie is important) but the flavor combination was amazing. My grandpa, a professional baker, used to pour this kind of custard over apple pie filling or mincemeat filling for a layered looking, creamier version of holiday pies and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANCIEDREW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I've never had a custard pie before, so I didn't know what to expect, but it sounded easy, so I gave it a shot. Wow. Not only was the recipe as easy as it seemed, but it was absolutely delicious. I used a little less sugar because I don't like things super-sweet, but that's the only change I made. So yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I thought this pie was delicious! If you are not a big fan of nutmeg, I would only use half. I myself liked the flavor. I used skim milk (since that is all we buy) and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States