Egg Custard Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This turned out cake-like instead of a moist custard. Not sure what I did wrong - but I didn't serve it :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This was the first time I've ever made any kind of custard & it was so good. Very easy & tasty. I doubled the filling, added some cinnamon, & keep the sugar at a cup. I will be keeping this recipe handy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moondusted

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Strawberry Plains, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This pie was really good. I did not bake my crust before filling as called for in recipe but it turned out really good. The crust was very flaky. My husband is very picky and he said it was good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellenwood, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Yummy! I changed the nutmeg to cinnamon coz I don't have any nutmeg, but I followed the rest of the recipe as is and it's so good! It is sweet, so if you're not into sweet dessert, maybe reduce the amount of sugar by 1/2 a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I thought this was going to be good, but it wasn't. I am a big fan of custard and this is not custard!! It tasted so awful I tried only one slice. I will NOT make this again ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susieq624

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
My husband was constantly asking me to make him a custard pie and this recipe looked simple so I tried it and I'm glad I did. I used the full amount of spices since my family loves them but I did double the recipe because it was too thin for a deep dish pie. Other than that it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Love it thanks for sharing it with us!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabatha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Great Taste! My pie ended up like a couple other ratings here, too buttery a bit too sweet and a bit to much nutmeg. I had to bake it longer than was stated in the recipie. I think next time I will delete some of the sugar, nutmeg and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
It was delicious and easy to make except for a few minor issues... 1. TOO sweet. Next time I would use just 2/3-1/2 cup of sugar instead of the full 1 cup. 2. TOO LITTLE egg custard. The pie turned out to be really thing. Next time, I would double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
My husband loves this pie and it's simple too! I doubled the recipe and made custard cups out of the left over filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States