Egg Custard Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I just made this pie on a whim this evening along with the no roll pie crust 1 also found on this site. I love it! This is my first custard pie and it turned out great. I followed the directions exactly and love the flavor. I look forward to having a piece cold tomorrow morning for breakfast. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenpool, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Made this for a friend and she thought it was really good thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Becky Hammack McLendon
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Oh this pie was great, just like my Granny's! Easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I am 72 and this was my husband's favorite pie of all time. He would sneak pieces until it was gone and I would never get more than a taste. It didn't matter what time of year it was, he wanted this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mammycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
May I say that because you are 78, Pat, I gave this pie a try! I felt you had to be a seasoned chef(no pun intended!). First, my family said it was phenomenal. Then I tried it on some guests, who all want the recipe! I didn't change anything and send a bouquet of thanks. I've been reluctant to make a custard pie and I'm 65. I can't wait to make it a third time. I may try a praline crust just to experiment. Hopie G.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This is my late mother's very old custard pie recipe, one of my favorites among the great pies she made. Thanks, Pat. It was great to eat this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I tried this pie and found it to be greasy and over sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This turned out perfectly! I read the reviews and since I had a deep pie dish, I doubled the recipe and altered it a tad by using 4 eggs, 3/4c of sugar and only 1/4t of nutmeg instead. When I took it out of the oven I was a little nervous, because butter was sitting on the top. Once I refrigerated it, it looked and tasted perfect! Definitely will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
First the color is wrong. It's not the yellow shown in the photo. Second, it doesn't taste like the kind of custard pie you get at a professional bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Nowak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is a wonderful pie. My children helped make it. They enjoyed it even more knowing it was something they created . thanks for sharing your family recipe Pat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mstressboss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States