Egg Custard Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
My pie went over well with people who like dense, eggy custard. Not so well with the people who like pudding-like custard. For what it's worth, I didn't have any issues with the butter as other reviewers did. It came out just fine. I used 1/4 tsp nutmeg and 1/4 tsp cinnamon, since I'm not a big nutmeg fan, and I was worried there would be an aftertaste (also worked fine). I used a frozen 9" "deep dish" pie crust, and the custard didn't quite fill it to the top. This is a nice pie, but make sure you like eggs and egg custard before making it (though I guess you shouldn't be looking at this recipe if you don't!). =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shopperooni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
OMG! This was better than I expected. I read reviews and knew I had to change the serving size because I had a deep dish crust. Made it 12 instead of 8. I had no milk so I used half and half instead. Also no nutmeg so I used cinnamon. I cooked at 350 degrees for the same amount of time about 55 minutes. It made such an unusual crust on the top. Fantastic! Im making one today for Xmas but with coconut. The half and half is what made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEDIUMRARE1826

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Charlestown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Awesomeness,les nutmeg for my brood but we loved it alot.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Bond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Fantastic custard pie! I love custards and the nutmeg adds just the right flavor. I grate my nutmeg from a whole bean, and have made this many times and never ever noticed any aftertaste from the nutmeg. Wonderful taste with just the right amount of sweetness. If you blend the flour & butter well it will bake up perfectly in 45 minutes. The best part? If you use a frozen shell it will be the easiest pie you've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I relucantly tried this recipe after another egg custard recipe from this site (which was highly rated) wasn't good. The other recipe was so horrible, I almost didn't try this one. NOW, I'm so glad I did b/c this is the absolute PERFECT RECIPE. My mom says it tastes just like the ones my grandmother made more than 30 years ago. THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this recipe, it's definately on the "Keep list".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMarilyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This is a very good custard. It is too sweet so I will cut the sugar next time. The butter came to the top and puddled so I will not use it next time. I also will bake the crust for 10 minutes instead of 5 as it wasn't done enough. But I recommend this recipe as it is easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Very good, I made a grahm cracker crust which rose to the top while cooking, I also added more egg nog type spices, it turned out delicious, my family is already requesting another one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKYRAY1
Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grvqn
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
This pie was really easy to make. I used Soy milk instead of milk. My boyfriend is lactose. I was reading most of the reviews and most people said that it had to much nutmeg. So I used 1/4tsp of nutmeg. It came out great! It taste better when it’s cold. You can taste all the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grvqn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
I just made this pie and I must say it was fabulous! I was looking for something similar to my grandmother's Mississippi Egg Pie and this was pretty spot on to how I remember hers. Only difference was I added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon... strangely I agree that there was a bit munch nutmeg. Maybe next time I'll keep the cinnamon the same and scale the nutmeg back some. That's what I thought anyway. My husband just devoured his piece and smiled. *UPDATE* I made this again after quite a long while. I'd forgotten about the nutmeg and I didnt check the comments so I baked the recipe as posted ahead of time for Thanksgiving. We served it straight from the fridge and this time I noticed no after taste, whereas last time we fell on it just as soon as it came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This was really yummy, and this coming from someone who doesn't usually like custard! Custard Pie is my husband's favorite pie for Thanksgiving and I wanted to find a light recipe the whole family could enjoy. I read some of the reviews first, and cut the nutmeg down to 1/8 tsp, instead of 1/2, because I don't like an after-taste, and I did add 1/8 tsp of cinnamon. It formed a nice light crusty top and was very thin, so next time I will try doubling the recipe to fill up the pastry. All-in-all, though, a very yummy tasting dessert for the whole family's taste buds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Supr_mom04

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States