Egg Custard Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Very good, I made a grahm cracker crust which rose to the top while cooking, I also added more egg nog type spices, it turned out delicious, my family is already requesting another one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKYRAY1
Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grvqn
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
This pie was really easy to make. I used Soy milk instead of milk. My boyfriend is lactose. I was reading most of the reviews and most people said that it had to much nutmeg. So I used 1/4tsp of nutmeg. It came out great! It taste better when it’s cold. You can taste all the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grvqn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
I just made this pie and I must say it was fabulous! I was looking for something similar to my grandmother's Mississippi Egg Pie and this was pretty spot on to how I remember hers. Only difference was I added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon... strangely I agree that there was a bit munch nutmeg. Maybe next time I'll keep the cinnamon the same and scale the nutmeg back some. That's what I thought anyway. My husband just devoured his piece and smiled. *UPDATE* I made this again after quite a long while. I'd forgotten about the nutmeg and I didnt check the comments so I baked the recipe as posted ahead of time for Thanksgiving. We served it straight from the fridge and this time I noticed no after taste, whereas last time we fell on it just as soon as it came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This was really yummy, and this coming from someone who doesn't usually like custard! Custard Pie is my husband's favorite pie for Thanksgiving and I wanted to find a light recipe the whole family could enjoy. I read some of the reviews first, and cut the nutmeg down to 1/8 tsp, instead of 1/2, because I don't like an after-taste, and I did add 1/8 tsp of cinnamon. It formed a nice light crusty top and was very thin, so next time I will try doubling the recipe to fill up the pastry. All-in-all, though, a very yummy tasting dessert for the whole family's taste buds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Supr_mom04

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Pat this was my first attempt at making an egg custard pie. It was wonderful. I used margarine instead of butter because we had the margarine and no butter. It still was really good. May try the butter next time to see the difference. My mom said just before she tried it not to be suprised if the crust was soggy. It wasen't. She and several family members said it was really good. Thanks for the great and easy recipe. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Raegene Mendenhall Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Very nice egg custard pie a bit on the sweet side but still yummy, next time i make this i will cut the sugar down to maybe 1/2 cup of sugar and not 1 cup.good recipe thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELLEN666

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Croydon, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Penge, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
I made this recipe without the crust. (I put them in individual custard dishes.) Both my fiance and I really enjoyed this dessert. There may be a bit too much nutmeg (could only tell because of the after taste) but still a really delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
Way too much nutmeg for my taste. Not what I was expecting for egg custard pie. The pie butter sitting on top. Strange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
White the custard filling is OK, this recipe doesn't work for me. I blended the ingedients very well, but the some of the butter was absorbed by the crust. I prefer recipes that don't have butter in the custard. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
My family and I enjoyed this pie. I love the fact that it took minimal effort to make! The thick consistency of the custard flavored with nutmeg was a big hit. My children have already requested another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States