Egg Custard Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
My Great grandmother, Grandmother and Mother have all made this pie for holidays and it is still a family favorite. My mom has to make one for each kid in our family so we can take the leftovers home. This recipe is exactly how she makes it!! It is and will probably be my ALL TIME FAVORITE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This recipe was perfect for my family but it was a little bit too sweet! I didnt put any nutmeg and it still tasted good! I i loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FaithM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
The Pie was good I added half cup of coconut but the cook time I found was way off burned the edges and the filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
YUMMY! So simple, and so delicious. Like some other reviewers, I used a bit less sugar (3/4 cup) and nutmeg (1/4 tsp. - fresh ground). I snuck a piece while it was still warm - heavenly! I'll be serving it cold with fresh strawberries. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Awesome. Used half the amount of butter & it came together just fine - like to top with frozen sliced strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This tasted just like the Egg Pie my Mom used to make for us. I put it in the perfect cream cheese pie crust also from this site. My only complaint is that it is a little too thin, however that could very easily have been my fault. The only change I made was to omit the salt and nutmeg, only because we don't like it. I will try it in a smaller pie pan next time, but there will definately be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristy Stanford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I used this to make an apple-custard pie. I made my regular apple pie recipe and poured the custard over the apples. It turned out well (i used 2% milk and it was not quite set, i think it would have been ok with whole milk), but the custard is very sweet- that could be because of the sugar all over the apples).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lessssy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This turned out cake-like instead of a moist custard. Not sure what I did wrong - but I didn't serve it :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This was the first time I've ever made any kind of custard & it was so good. Very easy & tasty. I doubled the filling, added some cinnamon, & keep the sugar at a cup. I will be keeping this recipe handy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moondusted

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Strawberry Plains, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This pie was really good. I did not bake my crust before filling as called for in recipe but it turned out really good. The crust was very flaky. My husband is very picky and he said it was good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellenwood, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States