Egg Custard Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Delicious! This recipe has been in my family for many generations and it's a no-fail recipe but I think the key is to use a BLENDER, not a mixer. It will turn out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
I don't like egg custard pie, and was only making it as a Valentine's Day gift for the boyfriend (who specifically requested it). I don't know if I'm just too dumb to make this recipe correctly (I don't think I am), but it was an absolute disaster from the time I turned on the mixer. First of all, I didn't know what speed to use. I used a KitchenAid mixer with the wire whisk attachment, and tried to ascertain from its directions what speed to use (based on other, similar recipes), but that was not helpful. The mixture looked too thin in the beginning, so I tried mixing it at a higher speed. Then the butter never mixed in (it floated on the top in clumps), and finally I ended up with a bunch of little wads of . . . butter? egg? floating on the top of the liquid. When I took it out of the oven, it looked like an oil slick--the top moved when I tilted the pan. I have obviously done something wrong, because everyone else who rated this recipe thinks it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
We made this pie for Mother's Day and my mom enjoyed it. We added a bit of cinnamon along with the nutmeg and she said it had a creme brulee flavor. Thank you for a nice recipe that is very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
This is a great basic recipe for a quick dessert, especially when lemon or orange zest and juice is added. Or, by leaving out the sugar and adding savoury ingredients, it makes an excellent pastryless quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2000
I LOVE this recipe! It's quick, easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
Wonderful!!! Family members BEG me to bring this one to "get-togethers." This recipe is exactly like the one my great-grandmother used to make! And it's so easy! Sometimes I do change it up a bit by sprinkling a little cinnamon on top, or a little nutmeg. But it's perfect as is!! I would give it 10 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This is great recipe because it involves only five minutes for preparation. Easy to make and delicious! I add just a dash of salt to neutralize the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
Very good. Egg custard is my favorite dessert. I sometimes add another egg yolk to the ingredients and cook it in a water bath to improve the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Williamston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
The taste was ok, but the consistency left something to be desired. I have made egg custard many times, and every recipe I know uses scalded milk and a pie shell. This recipe seemed simple so I thought I would give it a try. The body of the custard was gooey, almost lumpy and there was excess liquid around the outside of it. The taste was pretty good, although I think the evaporated milk covered up that good egg flavor somewhat. I think I'll just stick to my grandmother's old fashioned egg custard recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChunkyMonkeyMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
This is great! I will make this again. Better than expected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States