Egg Custard Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This is great recipe because it involves only five minutes for preparation. Easy to make and delicious! I add just a dash of salt to neutralize the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
The taste was ok, but the consistency left something to be desired. I have made egg custard many times, and every recipe I know uses scalded milk and a pie shell. This recipe seemed simple so I thought I would give it a try. The body of the custard was gooey, almost lumpy and there was excess liquid around the outside of it. The taste was pretty good, although I think the evaporated milk covered up that good egg flavor somewhat. I think I'll just stick to my grandmother's old fashioned egg custard recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChunkyMonkeyMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
This is great! I will make this again. Better than expected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
FANTASTIC!!! My husband has been asking me to make this for some time. Now, he's asking about every other day. We both love this recipe. Thank you for sharing it.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
Wonderful!!! Family members BEG me to bring this one to "get-togethers." This recipe is exactly like the one my great-grandmother used to make! And it's so easy! Sometimes I do change it up a bit by sprinkling a little cinnamon on top, or a little nutmeg. But it's perfect as is!! I would give it 10 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I've been looking for this recipe for a long time. My friend made it for me once, long time ago but she lost the recipes. Now that this recipe remerged and i gave a copy of this to my friend, we both want to thank Donna for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
I don't like egg custard pie, and was only making it as a Valentine's Day gift for the boyfriend (who specifically requested it). I don't know if I'm just too dumb to make this recipe correctly (I don't think I am), but it was an absolute disaster from the time I turned on the mixer. First of all, I didn't know what speed to use. I used a KitchenAid mixer with the wire whisk attachment, and tried to ascertain from its directions what speed to use (based on other, similar recipes), but that was not helpful. The mixture looked too thin in the beginning, so I tried mixing it at a higher speed. Then the butter never mixed in (it floated on the top in clumps), and finally I ended up with a bunch of little wads of . . . butter? egg? floating on the top of the liquid. When I took it out of the oven, it looked like an oil slick--the top moved when I tilted the pan. I have obviously done something wrong, because everyone else who rated this recipe thinks it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
This is not close to the traditional southern egg custard pie. I did add nutmeg to mine and baked it in a pie crust. It has a good texture and nice taste. It is darker than a creamy egg custard. Once again, this is not the traditional egg custard but worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YBRICK423

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Very good, quick and easy ! Had to bake for 40 minutes. I added nutmeg and cinnamon in going with the season . Thanx, Anna H.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
Very good. Egg custard is my favorite dessert. I sometimes add another egg yolk to the ingredients and cook it in a water bath to improve the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Williamston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States