Egg Custard Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
In following the directions, please note that the flour and butter are not to be blended with the custard mix but used in the pie dish. The directions don't specify.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I have made this twice in as many weeks. My husbands friend had half of the first pie and hinted for another taste! I was gobsmacked at how easy and delicious this is. I followed the recipe slavishly much to everyone's delight! Thank you Donna!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kotopolo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Very easy to make. Taste and texture wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Virginia E

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
The recipe was pretty easy to follow. However, I did make a few alterations. First, instead of putting the butter directly in, I melted it first. Secondly, I used gluten free all purpose flour instead of wheat flour. Lastly, I also added 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice and 1 tsp of orange peel. Overall, it was a quick and easy recipe that made for a good dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
all your recipes are easy to follow and I can choose the adjustment for serving amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
extremely easy. Turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I wasn't keen on the texture and it was way to sweet for me. But I did like the ease of the recipe. However I think the instructions were to simplistic for beginning cooks. I melted my butter but let it cool and mixed the flour in the sugar before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This literally took me five minutes to put together. Everything in my Vitamix, blended for 30 seconds on high, and poured into the prepared pan. I did sub buttermilk for the evaporated (as I had some on hand that needed to be used up). I also added a sprinkle of cinnamon on top before baking. I needed to bake mine more like 40 minutes. It will still look like it's bubbling, but it sets up as it cools. Delicious topped with some fresh berries and a dollop of whip cream! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Very simple and delicious. We ate half of it while it was still warm. Looking forward to devouring the rest chilled. I added 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg togive it a bit more depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Sparti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Hmmm...no, not really a true egg custard.  Totally ignore the picture with the recipe.   Bakes up a bit darker in color (almost more like a pumpkin pie color)  and has a more caramelized flavor and a more pudding-like texture than a custard.  Gets more granular in texture as it cools...and the butter starts to separate out.  Still sorta tasty...but best eaten without looking at it, lol. Very simple to prepare (5 minutes!) but it tastes only good, but great -- and presentation-wise, definitely not for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States