Egg Custard Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
extremely easy. Turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I wasn't keen on the texture and it was way to sweet for me. But I did like the ease of the recipe. However I think the instructions were to simplistic for beginning cooks. I melted my butter but let it cool and mixed the flour in the sugar before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This literally took me five minutes to put together. Everything in my Vitamix, blended for 30 seconds on high, and poured into the prepared pan. I did sub buttermilk for the evaporated (as I had some on hand that needed to be used up). I also added a sprinkle of cinnamon on top before baking. I needed to bake mine more like 40 minutes. It will still look like it's bubbling, but it sets up as it cools. Delicious topped with some fresh berries and a dollop of whip cream! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Very simple and delicious. We ate half of it while it was still warm. Looking forward to devouring the rest chilled. I added 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg togive it a bit more depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Sparti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Hmmm...no, not really a true egg custard.  Totally ignore the picture with the recipe.   Bakes up a bit darker in color (almost more like a pumpkin pie color)  and has a more caramelized flavor and a more pudding-like texture than a custard.  Gets more granular in texture as it cools...and the butter starts to separate out.  Still sorta tasty...but best eaten without looking at it, lol. Very simple to prepare (5 minutes!) but it tastes only good, but great -- and presentation-wise, definitely not for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This pie is so amazing. My Grandmother use to make this before she passed. Even though I can't get close to perfecting it like her I do my best and it brings back memories. I add a little nutmeg for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This reminds me of the egg custard that my grandmother used to make. Very tasty and easy to make. I saw where some people complained that the butter never mixed in. The butter is for the pie pan to assure that it does not stick not mixed in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This recipe is easy, fast and the pie is delicious! I will make this one regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STLaferty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Big Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I prepared this for Thanksgiving this year and it was wonderful. At the end of the day we had no pie left. I will be making this again today!!! Great dessert!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Living In: Rutherford, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
really great recipe, i put pillsbury biscuits (halved) at the bottom of muffin tins and then poor the mixture on top to give it a solid base and single servings. soooo delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States