Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
What attracted me to this recipe was the fact that you don't have to assemble it the night before. I don't recommend using soft white bread (finished product will be too soggy). Use something sturdier, like sourdough. I use healthy subs: turkey sausage crumbles (or turkey bacon or turkey ham), reduced fat cheese, and remove 1/3 - 1/2 of the yolks. For our little family of 3, I halve this recipe and bake in a 9 x 9 pan, and we always have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Cook time wrong. To try to salvage it, cooked it longer. Still slightly runny in center after one hour. Then sides were as poofy, airy, dry and tasteless as what I thinksponge/foam would be like. Outcome's texture was not desirable. It was cooked in a glass 9 x13 dish. I also used a cookie tray underneath for the first 15 minutes (never know if there will be overflow with new recipes). I don't think these should cause such a difference in outcome, but they did. The family ate it and said they liked it, but I think they were being nice,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I followed the advice of many of the reviewers and cooked the casserole longer than the cook time in the recipe. Mine came out a little too overcooked around the edges. Next time I will stick to the recipe cook time. Other than that, this egg casserole was phenomenal! It was my first time making an egg casserole and it was simple, no fuss and DELICIOUS!! My family asked for this every Saturday morning after tasting it. This will also be a great base recipe, the combinations are endless!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Takes longer to cook in a convection oven, I did it in a glass dish and will probably do it in a metal one in the future as the convection oven takes forever to just heat the glass dish. Subbed a bunch of stuff - used day-old biscuits that I'd cut in half, put light cream cheese on, and then cut up into chunks, and I used turkey bacon that I'd cooked crispy first. Delicious and easy, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenissing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
GREAT recipe!! I add things to it, onions, bacon & mushrooms. I make this a few times a year. Christmas day for brunch for sure! Enjoy!! Note: Some wrote that the recipe did not have it listed as cooked sausage but in the instructions it says to brown your sausage, drain grease and set aside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I made this for a "Breakfast" after a formal dance for a bunch of Teenagers! It was so good!!! I followed some of the suggestions - Because I was cooking for 18 teenagers, I added more eggs, bread, onions, cheese and sausage, and a little more seasoning (Chili Pepper), and made it the night before to soak up all the goodies into the bread. I still used the same size pan to bake, and it just made the casserole thicker. Good cold for left overs as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Jensen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Weiser, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Pretty good as is. Would rather a little more "eggy" and less "bready", a little "fluffier", and some veggies to break up the "all meat/all cheese" aspect. Wife and 2 year old loved, 10 year old didn't like (too cheesy) and 12 year old though ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I made this for the first time this morning. It is very tasty but dare I say that there is too much cheese? I LOVE cheese but I got mouths full of just that. I am also a texture person and it was too mushy for me. I added sauted onions and did toss part of the egg mixture with the bread so that may contribute to the softness but I didn't want just a layer of egg at the bottom. Btw, we did cook it for 45 minutes and precooked the sausage. Not sure how to give it more structure but I'll keep trying and read more reviews. The flavor is there; just need to figure out how how much of each ingredient makes sense for our taste/texture needs. I know this probably isn't too helpful because I'm not offering a suggestion, but I'd want to know this info; thus my post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I substituted bacon as well! We loved this dish on Easter. I followed the recipe and it turned out perfect! I'm going to make it again for the 'girls cottege weekend.' I needed to look the recipe u again and decided to leave rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I loved this casserole! We used 1 lb of turkey sausage and a 1 lb of bacon. We used 6.5 pieces of bread and then we used 13 eggs. We cooked the meat first and then started the rest. We cook it for 15 minutes and remove the foil and cook for an additional 15. Let me tell you, this is great! Make sure you cook the meat- or otherwise the recipe will taste off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States