Eel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This was very yumm!!! I didn't have to add cornstarch at all. The sauce is thickened perfectly as it cooled down. I served it with vegetarian sushi and onigiri tuna for dinner and this morning with breakfast sushi roll. Next time i'll be making this again with some dashi stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Voorschoten, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Awesome. I added some cornstarch to thicken it a bit. Otherwise- the perfect sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
A must for making sushi at home! I've used it in stir-fry as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
It tastes just like the eel sauce at my favorite sushi bar! So glad I found this recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
After reducing it on the stove, it's almost as good as the stuff in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This sauce tastes so good, you can put it on chicken, fish, pork, the options are endless. I made a batch and now keep it in the frige.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyMc100

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jonesville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
At least as good, if not better than the stuff at my local sushi shop, even though I had no eel bones to stew with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Outstanding!!!! Left in the freezer for 15 minutes after making it, so it can become thicker like they serve at my husband's and I local restaurant we go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T.Allison23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This sauce was awesome!! I made it for a shrimp tempura roll and it came out excellent. My sauce did come out pretty thick, next time I would probably thin the final product down a little bit to make it easier for dipping/pouring. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I took some of the suggestions from other reviewers. I added 1/4 c. low sodium soy sauce, 1/4 c. reg. soy sauce, 1/2 c white sugar, 1/2 c. mirin, 1/4 tsp dashin, 1tsp corn starch. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States