Edible Spiders Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
My husband made these for our sons school Halloween party yesterday (while I was making the black cat cookies off of this site). These tasted awesome and looked terrific. He squished the marshmallow a bit for a more realistic body. I didnt pick up any mini m&m's thinking I could use frosting at the end. It would have worked. Instead of running out my husband hand rolled little bits of taffy into 48 little eyeballs. I figured trying to drizzle the chocolate would make a complete mess so I put the chips in a double boiler along with some candy wax and dipped them with . It went rather quickly that way. They were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
These treats were great. I didn't use the bag or the butter. Instead I used shortening with semi-sweet & butterscotch chips, which gave a great finish to the spiders. Definitely enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn Schilling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
great n easy idea thank you, we have boys and tom-boys that love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
So cute! These were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momof3
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
My son and my nieces made these a few weeks ago and they had a blast! The end result didn't really look like spiders but they didn't care. As soon as they were made they were gobbled up! Thanks for the fun "food project".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
We loved these and they had the best taste. I used hersheys semi sweet chocolate morsels and it made it taste more like dark chocolate. Instead of m&m's because I didnt have any I made sugar cookie icing and put it in a sandwhich bag cut the corner a very tiny bit and put eyes on the spiders that way. It was cheaper and I had the stuff on hand. If you have trouble with the chocolate covering it all dont get discouraged because they are sooo yummy and they still look like spiders even if some of the marshmallow is showing. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Super cute and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Easy to make, but the first few came out ugly. Once I got the hang of it they looked nice. I had a hard time getting the balance of chocolate and butter right so that they weren't sticky - so I ended up serving them with toothpicks. I also used pretzels for legs. I ended up making the spiders, dumping the whole spider in the chocolate mix, then turning it over with a fork, and then fishing it out with the fork. The I stuck them in the freezer to harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I have been making these for years with this recipe. It's a great family activity and everybody loves to eat them! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bessiedarlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
My kids enjoyed making these...and eating them too. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLovesCoffee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States