Edible Spiders Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
My (almost)4-year old daughter and I made these last night to take to an Assisted Living facility where the kids were going to visit for Halloween - she helped me "stuff" the legs on (great chance to practice counting!)while I did the chocolate part. I had a difficult time with the chocolate not being easy to spread/squirt out of the bag - it got thick, despite my adding more butter and even some milk. I ended up patting it on top, joking that it looked like a toupee. Used peanut butter chips for the eyes (the color matched the legs!)and they really did look cute! Lots of "oohs and aahs" from the children and residents : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
Instead of drizzling melted chips over marshmallows, try melting chips with a small amount of cooking paraffin. Keep this mixture on low heat after melted, jab each marshmallow with a fork, and hold over pan. Drizzle this mixture over marshmallows, drop onto wax paper & fill in tong marks on top of marshmallow with small amount of mixture. This way you have more control over how the chocolate covers the marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
The kids had fun making these, but very messy. They never really did look like spiders, but that didn't stop us from eating them up! We used melting chocalate, couldn't find parafin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MELISSA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
I made this for my Cub Scout pack meeting for Oct. They were a huge hit. They turned out so cute. They did take a long time to make. I started to use the chocolate chips in the bag but it did not work good at all. Luckly I had Almond Bark. I turned it on low and it worked beautifully. I poked the marshmallows with a toothpick and dipped. I did take the extra chocolate off with the second toothpick. I just smoothed the chocolate over the hole and it looked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
I made these for my twin 5 year olds' Kindergarten Party at school. The kids all loved them! Of course, I did make some changes to the recipe. . . I used 1 bag of milk chocolate morsels and one bag on butterscotch morsels melted together in the microwave, 1/2 a pretzel stick for each leg, mini M&Ms for the eyes, and only about 1/2 of a large marshmallow for the body. I put a dallop of chocolate on waxed paper, added the pretzel legs (so they stuck out of the chocolate), and added the candy eyes, then transferred to the freezer for a couple of minutes to harden (it doesn't take long). After they were set (they looked like smooshed spiders-reminded me of the spiders in the Garfield comic strip after he smacks them with a newspaper!) I dipped a 1/2 a marshmallow in chocolate and set it on top of the "smashed spider" (not covering up the eyes, though!) which then gave it a "puffy spider" look. It was rather time consuming, but it was worth it because the kids really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
This was time-consuming, very messy, but fun treat when preparing for Halloween. I used a couple TBLS of butter and using a knife, dipped each marshmellow into the melted choc./butter mix. Luckily, I had a whole "assembly line" of hands ready - my boyfriend attached pretzel sticks for the legs and my daughter added the M&M eyes. I might take the butterscotch chip suggestion into review if I ever decide to make these treats again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
These were very time consuming, but my husband and I had fun making them for our son's class. We did make changes. The bag thing didn't work at all. So we just melted the chocolate on the stove and coated them in the pan using a fork and spoon. I won't know until tomorrow (Halloween) whether or not they are a hit, but they are very cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Agree with the microwaving the chocolate thing - it wouldn't melt right for me. Ended up just putting chocolate chips, butter and some milk in a saucepan over low heat to get right consisitancy. Once chocolate was melted everything else was smooth sailing. The kids loved the looks of them for their holloween party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
the chocolate never melted but went all crumberly and the it burnt a realy foul but sweet smell filled the house use melting chocolate or you taking chanches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Cute concept, but I should have read the reviews prior to starting. I had the same problem with the chocolate in the microwave as others did. I finally melted it on the stove with more butter and milk. They are currently in the fridge, hopefully they will harden! I also dropped them in the pan of melted chocolate with the help of 2 forks. That seemed to work well. Thanks for the cute idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States