Edamame Dip (Edamole) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
yummy and smokey. My guests who prefer super greasy food weren't partial to this dish, but those of us with more refined tastebuds were LOVING this dip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I didn't care for this one at all, although I liked the idea of using edamame for a dip. But no one cared for the flavor. I'll have to keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I made this pretty much following the recipe (I used dried chipotle instead of canned), and it came out dry and gritty. I added lime juice, salsa, and cream, and then blended it in the food processor for a long time. In the end it came out okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I liked it but the directions about spiciness was kind of vague. I did not add any hot sauce and then added twice the edamame and it was still too spicy for a lot of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I liked that this recipe had some "heat" but the garlic was overwhelming. I added cilantro and lemon juice as the submitter suggested and it does help make this recipe work. I also liked that the dip is emulsified with water instead of oil. I will make this again but will cut the garlic in half. Thank you HFL for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
this was really different but great! we loved it and honestly it didn't taste the same, but was very similar to a good guacamole. we will definitely make this again. next time i will probably use some chipotle powder though instead of buying a whole can of peppers for just one pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RecipeAddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Not great as written, kinda bland, but spice it up the same way you would with guacamole. The recipe writer later added lemon juice and cilantro. I would also add chopped onion and tomato if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I love the idea of making a dip from edamame, but this flavor combo didn't work for me. The cumin and garlic were way too strong and completely obscured the flavor of the edamame. Maybe that's the point, but I love edamame and would like to be able to taste it. I think this would work much better with Asian flavors: ponzu or soy sauce, sesame oil, wasabi, and pickled ginger, served with home-baked pita chips sprinkled with Chinese 5-spice, or even used as a filling for nori rolls. Thanks for the inspiration, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
So this was really different ... I wouldn't call it guacamole, but it really was good. It had so much flavor! I only used 1 tsp of olive oil, added 2 TB lowfat plain yogurt, added 2 TB lemon juice instead of the water, and 2 TB leftover salsa. Cilantro would definitely go well with this recipe. I omitted the salt and pepper ... didn't seem to need it. Overall, a great alternative to guacamole ... especially since avocados are so pricey and edamame are so inexpensive! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Great, healthy, protein-packed snack! I'm a big wimp and can't handle much spicy stuff, so I replaced the chipotle pepper with a roasted red pepper. I still added some hot sauce and it needed more olive oil, but that could've been due to the red pepper. It's very good, but I think I might add some sauteed onion, maybe some chopped tomato to make it more like guacamole. Great recipe- so glad I found it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Seven-Layer Dip I

See how to make this crowd-pleasing seven-layer dip.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States