Edamame Dip (Edamole) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Stephanie Lilly
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I was on here looking for somehting to round out the Middle Eastern picnic I'm preparing for this evening.This recipe showed up on the front page since it's new, so I thought I'd try it out. I'm glad I did. I made a lot of substitutions due to personal preference: A small amount (1/2 t.?) of powdered chipolte chilies in place of the whole canned ones, Saracha hot chili sauce in place of the hot sauce and nonfat plain yogurt for half the oil.I also added some lemon juice to brighten it up a bit. The end result was perfect. This is a tasty recipe that would also work well as a spread. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Lilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
So this is my recipe and I realized after reading the last review I forgot to add something on the original. This is optional but I do like to add a little lemon juice and cilantro before serving to add more zing. Hope you enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthyFoodLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This is good! It has a different taste, in a good way. It is spicy. I added more water than it called for. I used it as a dip for chips and taquitos. I put it in a taco, Tasty! Next time I'm going to try it on a hamburger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Great, healthy, protein-packed snack! I'm a big wimp and can't handle much spicy stuff, so I replaced the chipotle pepper with a roasted red pepper. I still added some hot sauce and it needed more olive oil, but that could've been due to the red pepper. It's very good, but I think I might add some sauteed onion, maybe some chopped tomato to make it more like guacamole. Great recipe- so glad I found it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
So this was really different ... I wouldn't call it guacamole, but it really was good. It had so much flavor! I only used 1 tsp of olive oil, added 2 TB lowfat plain yogurt, added 2 TB lemon juice instead of the water, and 2 TB leftover salsa. Cilantro would definitely go well with this recipe. I omitted the salt and pepper ... didn't seem to need it. Overall, a great alternative to guacamole ... especially since avocados are so pricey and edamame are so inexpensive! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I love the idea of making a dip from edamame, but this flavor combo didn't work for me. The cumin and garlic were way too strong and completely obscured the flavor of the edamame. Maybe that's the point, but I love edamame and would like to be able to taste it. I think this would work much better with Asian flavors: ponzu or soy sauce, sesame oil, wasabi, and pickled ginger, served with home-baked pita chips sprinkled with Chinese 5-spice, or even used as a filling for nori rolls. Thanks for the inspiration, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Not great as written, kinda bland, but spice it up the same way you would with guacamole. The recipe writer later added lemon juice and cilantro. I would also add chopped onion and tomato if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
this was really different but great! we loved it and honestly it didn't taste the same, but was very similar to a good guacamole. we will definitely make this again. next time i will probably use some chipotle powder though instead of buying a whole can of peppers for just one pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RecipeAddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I liked that this recipe had some "heat" but the garlic was overwhelming. I added cilantro and lemon juice as the submitter suggested and it does help make this recipe work. I also liked that the dip is emulsified with water instead of oil. I will make this again but will cut the garlic in half. Thank you HFL for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I liked it but the directions about spiciness was kind of vague. I did not add any hot sauce and then added twice the edamame and it was still too spicy for a lot of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Seven-Layer Dip I

See how to make this crowd-pleasing seven-layer dip.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States