Edamame Dip (Edamole) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
So this is my recipe and I realized after reading the last review I forgot to add something on the original. This is optional but I do like to add a little lemon juice and cilantro before serving to add more zing. Hope you enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthyFoodLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie Lilly
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I was on here looking for somehting to round out the Middle Eastern picnic I'm preparing for this evening.This recipe showed up on the front page since it's new, so I thought I'd try it out. I'm glad I did. I made a lot of substitutions due to personal preference: A small amount (1/2 t.?) of powdered chipolte chilies in place of the whole canned ones, Saracha hot chili sauce in place of the hot sauce and nonfat plain yogurt for half the oil.I also added some lemon juice to brighten it up a bit. The end result was perfect. This is a tasty recipe that would also work well as a spread. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Lilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
So this was really different ... I wouldn't call it guacamole, but it really was good. It had so much flavor! I only used 1 tsp of olive oil, added 2 TB lowfat plain yogurt, added 2 TB lemon juice instead of the water, and 2 TB leftover salsa. Cilantro would definitely go well with this recipe. I omitted the salt and pepper ... didn't seem to need it. Overall, a great alternative to guacamole ... especially since avocados are so pricey and edamame are so inexpensive! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I love the idea of making a dip from edamame, but this flavor combo didn't work for me. The cumin and garlic were way too strong and completely obscured the flavor of the edamame. Maybe that's the point, but I love edamame and would like to be able to taste it. I think this would work much better with Asian flavors: ponzu or soy sauce, sesame oil, wasabi, and pickled ginger, served with home-baked pita chips sprinkled with Chinese 5-spice, or even used as a filling for nori rolls. Thanks for the inspiration, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I've made this a few times now as a healthier alternate to guacamole. This is VERY good and entire family loved it. But each time - I've had a difficult time getting the edamame pureed to a consistency and had to monkey around a bit w/it and the liquids given here. (otherwise would rate a 5) Great flavor though - VERY good and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotdiggitydogs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
this was really different but great! we loved it and honestly it didn't taste the same, but was very similar to a good guacamole. we will definitely make this again. next time i will probably use some chipotle powder though instead of buying a whole can of peppers for just one pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RecipeAddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Mine was not very green, which I attribute to the hot pepper sauce I used. However, this impressed me greatly! We truly enjoyed having this dip with some chips during a relaxing stay at the family cabin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I didn't care for this one at all, although I liked the idea of using edamame for a dip. But no one cared for the flavor. I'll have to keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Yum! I should have known to use less chipotle pepper, but I threw a whole one in anyway so this was a bit spicy for my wimpy taste buds. However, that was easily remedied by serving it with plain yogurt to cut the heat. I used lime juice instead of water and added cilantro. I wouldn't say it tastes at all like guacamole, but it is really good. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Great, healthy, protein-packed snack! I'm a big wimp and can't handle much spicy stuff, so I replaced the chipotle pepper with a roasted red pepper. I still added some hot sauce and it needed more olive oil, but that could've been due to the red pepper. It's very good, but I think I might add some sauteed onion, maybe some chopped tomato to make it more like guacamole. Great recipe- so glad I found it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Seven-Layer Dip I

See how to make this crowd-pleasing seven-layer dip.

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States