Ed Zieba's Famous Family Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I have to admit I was really skeptical when I first saw this recipe. I thought that onions and seasoned salt alone couldn't possibly work, that it'd be too bland. I was wrong!! The pork came out so incredibly tender (no knife needed), and the pork and onions were delicious. Sometimes being simple goes a long way. Definitely worth giving it a shot if anybody is on the fence about trying this one!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
These turned out great! Since there are only 2 of us, I used 2 boneless chops and for personal preference used 1/2 water and 1/2 Worcestershire sauce, baked at 400 for 30 minutes and turned the oven down to 300 for another 25 minutes. They were very tender and flavorful. I served with broccoli, cauliflower and carrots in light cheese sauce and fresh strawberries. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight. I am a masters student with not a lot of time on my hands. While studying I made this. Only took 15 minutes to prep. I added mushrooms and bell peppers to add more veggies! So good! I am sending this to my friends to try! Couldn't be happier with these simple ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Delicious. And diet friendly. I cut most of the fat off the pork chops and sometimes add a little balsamic vinegar to the water. I must have fixed them a dozen times already. Thanks for a simple, but fabulous way to have tender chops, not to mention the scrumptous onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This method makes the most perfectly cook pork chop! Loved it! I replaced the water with beef stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bostoncook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This one didn't "grab" us. It wasn't bad really, just not so good either. The chops were tender, but while they weren't lacking taste, they were kinda boring(?) 'Seemed like a recipe from a good cook who doesn't need to use recipes - which fits this one perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Awesome porkchops This recipe is true to it's word.. The chops were tender utilizing the onions.. I used a german seasoning and they were awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
All the high reviews promised a lot, so I had my hopes up high for these chops. Maybe that's why I was so disappointed. I used two bone-in chops that were almost an inch thick and, with the exception of adding pepper and garlic powder, I followed the recipe exactly. They were cooked through and moist, but they certainly weren't fall-of-the-bone tender. I still needed a steak knife to cut them up. Maybe that was due to the thickness...? The juices in the pan after cooking weren't really appetizing, so I didn't do anything with them. They tasted alright though, but I do have to say that the best thing about this dish is the onions, which, after being cooked for so long, were deliciously sweet and tender. I wish I had put more on top of my chop. We served these with potato pancakes and applesauce - a classic combo. I'd like to try a variation of this again to get the moist chop, but I'm not sure what I could do to make it better. Maybe a broth instead of water...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Yummy!!!! This turned out fabulous. It was fall off the bone tender and the flavor was awesome. I only had 4 chops, so I used only 1 and a half onions. Will use more next time. I made a side dish of rice and was stealing the onions off the pork chops for the top of the rice. I failed to read some of the other comments about the gravy. Will definitely do that next time. Husband loved this dish. Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melrose, Florida, USA
Living In: Bronson, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I love pork chops but every time I make them they come out tough and dry. I tried this recipe hoping they would come out tender, and that is exactly what happened. These pork chops were falling apart as I was trying to get them out of the pan. I seasoned them with some random Parmesan Garlic seasoning I had in the cabinet and they were the best chops I have ever made! Beware: the pan turns brown and looks like it will never come off but make sure you use a glass baking dish, and if you soak it in warm soapy water for a few minutes it comes perfectly clean! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Famous Pork Chops

Make these delicious baked pork chops for an impressive dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States