Ed Zieba's Famous Family Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I didn't have any onions in the house so I used onion soup mix instead of just water. I also cooked on 300 for an hour and then 400 for 30 minutes. This was by pure accident because I didn't read the directions correctly. :) But it turned out great! They were tender and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dickson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Antioch, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
For those afraid of using too much seasoned salt, try an unsalted spice seasoning mixture so that you can add the spice without the salt. Then, everyone can salt to taste. A very good recipe to prepare and forget...until its ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan The Bread Baker

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Grapevine, Texas, USA
Living In: Muenster, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This recipe has become a standby for me! The key is using lots of seasoned salt. I use boneless chops and bake for 1 hour at 400, then 1 hour at 300--so tender you don't need a knife! Try replacing the water with dry white wine. I've even forgotten the liquid, and they still turned out great. I always serve with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This is a very good recipe, yet so simple. I only made half the recipe. I had 4 chops and 2 large onions. I placed them in the crockpot on low before I went to work. I came home to some very moist chops. It smelled so good in the house. I didn't put any liquid in the crockpot-probably should have added the 1/4 cup. I put most of the onions on the bottom of the pot and a few on top of the chops. The onions on top of the chops were very dark. They should have all been together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I made this for supper yesterday. I used an entire package of onion soup mix, but I took the onions out and rubbed the soup seasoning into the chops. Then I seasoned with black pepper, garlic powder and poultry seasoning, skipping the seasoned salt altogether. I poured the dried onions from the soup mix on top of the chops, then smothered the fresh onions over all. This was absolutely delicious! I will use the method of cooking for chops with other seasonings. I am anxious to try it with barbecue sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I followed this to a t except for the season all..I just used salt pepper and other on hand spices such as minced garlic. It came out bland and chewy and the onions did not brown at all. I made a gravy with the juice to add some flavor. Helped a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laura5402

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This was surprisingly good and very easy. Will make again. I used boneless pork chops that were on sale. Lined a Corning casserole dish with half the sliced onions. The pork chops fit in a single layer over that and then sprinkled in steak spice, fennel, sage, and ground coriander. Covered that with rest of onions and the water. Put the glass lid on and baked as directed. Served with mashed potatos and caesar salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ste-Rose, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Westmount, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I was skeptical at first and was surprised when these actually turned out quite tender and flavorful. I turn to this recipe when I want something that doesn't take a lot of effort to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
We love this recipe at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerrie Hicks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashby, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
eh these were okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Potsticker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Famous Pork Chops

Make these delicious baked pork chops for an impressive dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States