Eclairs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Made according to recipe as much as possible as I cut the serving size to 3. Will do the 'crust' much differently next time. Tried to shape it with a knife as one review suggested, but even though they looked good on parchment paper, I wasn't pleased with the boxy look I ended up with. Next time, I will actually take a gallon freezer bag and put the dough in and squeeze it through. The filling went fine, but my husband said he preferred the regular custard kind, but it was a good substitute. The chocolate I messed up on and put the whole amount of milk instead of water right away. Won't do that again. But I put in extra powdered sugar and it turned out OK. Dipped the top in the chocolate before putting in on the 'custard'. Had plenty of custard and chocolate left over so I put them together and my daughter ate it as a pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Very time consuming but so worth it- the family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I used cook and serve vanilla pudding cooled, and piped it in.for the choc.icing I asked my supermarket bakery for a little container of the choc.icing they put on the donuts. You just heat it in the microwave a minute or two, stir it and dip the eclair in it . It's just like from a bakery!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Hope, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This is an awsome recipe, i used my own filling, but they are awsome!!! I just had to share them with my friends, and they loved them too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I used this to make la religieuse instead of éclairs, and the dough (pâte à choux) was fantastic! It puffed up nicely, was a beautiful light golden brown, and it was hollow inside (perfect for swiss buttercream). I did have to alter the cooking time -- 450 F for 9 minutes, and then 325 F for 25 minutes. I did not try the custard filling, BUT the dough was to die for! I highly recommend the dough for la religieuse, éclairs, croquembouches, and cream puffs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I made this recipe for a family function and they "went like hot cakes!" When my hubby tried it, he told me he would love me forever hahaha. I think I will keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookplus5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: South Lancaster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing this recipe. My husband and I loved them. I use to buy eclairs (just like these) from a bakery in a small town about 20 miles from home. Now I don't need to travel to get these yummy treats. I made them for my husband's 52nd birthday and he (and I) loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I gave this 5 stars because of how AMAZING they tasted! But it took me at least 2 hours to make them. Ive never made eclairs before and i had no idea wat was right and wrong. I made smaller ones, it made about 18. i would suggest piping the cream into the eclairs rather than cutting them. it just look a lot nicer and is less messy to eat. This was a very messy baking process also. But overall, really really amazing! better than store-bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is the best recipe ever! I have been making it for several years and am always asked to make these for parties. I follow the recipe exactly as directed, except I make them into cream puffs using a pastry bag to create the puffs. The favorite part for most people seems to be the filling. It's perfect - not too light and not too heavy. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe! I wouldn't change a thing about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Pretty good recipe. Followed recipe exactly as is. Everybody in the household loved them and asks me often to make them again. I thought they had a bit of an aftertaste that I wasn't crazy about, but overall they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States