Eclairs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I'm only rating the pastry. It's flawless (5 stars!!!). Super easy to make, puffes up perfectly, and tastes like eclair supposed to taste (light and a bit eggy). Just perfect! The baking time and the temp are off IMHO. 15 min @450 plus 20 @ 325 is too long and too hot. I baked mine at 325 for 20 min, and they were perfect (you have to know your oven though, mine runs a bit hot). Took them out of the oven immediately, pierced the ends with the toothpick, cooled completely and filled with 'pastry cream' from this site (just don't like pudding taste). Spooned some 'chocolate ganache' (also from this site-super easy and oh so good!)over them. Half of them never even made it to a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
The eclairs came out fine, but the filling did not work for me at all. Very soft and I didn't find it too tasty. Will be trying another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tati
Home Town: Rio De Janeiro, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
its so good:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This is the first time I made eclairs, and I found this recipe easy to follow. My family loved them. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Heavenly. Followed to a T. For those saying filling was too runny, your using the wrong size pudding (need 5oz). Absolute. Perfection. Made 18 varied size. First pan was smaller, got the amount needed on the 2nd pan. Used freezer bags to pipe both crust and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HisMrs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I am not one to usually write review but these are delicious! I kept my icing a little thicker and spread it on top of the eclairs in a pastry bag. I took some to my mother in law who suggest I make these for an upcoming bridal shower! They looked beautiful and tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
These were delicious! I used just regular whipping cream instead of heavy because that's what I had on hand and I also just used two spoons to place them on the cookie sheet. Everyone LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
These came out perfectly ... (picture to come). I suggest making one of the pastry cream recipes from this site. You can pipe a small amount on the bottom and top with piped whipped cream on top before the top is put on. I have even piped a small bit of raspberry seedless jam down the top of the cream adding a special flavor a la Danish versions! Anyway you cut or don't cut it, this is a winner. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States