Eclairs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Very good recipe, but the proportions of filling to shells seems a little off. I ended up making a double batch of shells for a single batch of filling. Also, don't forget to poke holes in the shells when they come out, and make sure they are cooked all the way through for the best texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
All I can say is YUM! Turned out perfectly, I made them to the exact recipe except for taking the advice of one poster and pierced the end of the pastry after baking. I will make 1/2 the amount of filling next time, it was way too much. My husband and son were very impressed, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muffin mix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
These eclairs were so delicious! They tasted as good as or better than the ones from our favorite bakery. The only change I made was using milk instead of water in the frosting. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I, made this quick and easy receipe, every one loved them, I, had to turn around within 1hr of making the 1st batch and make a double batch, everyone loved them and I, even got orders to make them for a party, and for desserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
simply delicious!!! Could have been more flakey in texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoopy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I made mini-eclairs and used the Pastry Cream recipe for the filling instead of the pudding mix blend because 1) I didn't have pudding mix on hand and 2) I wanted to try making fresh filling. The think 450 is probably too high heat for mini-eclairs (1 x 2) as they cooked very quickly on the outside and the inside ended up a little bit mushy. I think if I was to make mini ones again I would heat at 400 first for about 11-13 minutes and then reduce down to 325 for another 10 minutes or so. Otherwise, who would've thought eclairs would be so easy to make? The shell would be good for cream puffs as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
To die for!!! I made them for Valentines Day for the love of my life and we could not stop eating them no matter how full we were from the rest of the 4 course meal!!! Will def make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diedra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
A little time consuming but fun and a great recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This only gets 4 stars because the chocolate topping was VERY gritty. If I make these again, I will look for a different recipe for the chocolate. Otherwise, the filling and pastry part were spot on and very good. I showed my husband the cookies I made last weekend and he said, 'you want to impress me, make eclairs'. So I did! He was suitably impressed. I was surprised how easy it was! I piped the dough using a plastic baggy and clipping off the end. Same for the filling as I didn't want to slice the tops off. Worked well, but you should really get a proper pastry bag if you want to do it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This was really fun for my novice, 12 year old daughter to make since it is quite a simple recipe. There was way too much filling left over, however, so next time will double the pastry portion of the recipe. The filling tasted too much like instant pudding so will use a cooked custard next time. Very good, quick, simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nora Shaide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States