Eclairs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
This recipe is fabuolus, but it forgets to mention to peirce the ends of the eclair shells right after removing from the oven to release any steam. This keeps them from getting really soggy on the inside. These eclairs have become a family favorite and everyone is convinced that I spend hours in the kitchen preparing these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
374 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikki Filippone
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
OK, first of all, these were incredible. I mean, they taste like they came fresh out of a bakery shop. A couple of notes though. First, if you don't have heavy cream or if you're just trying to reduce some of that calorie intake... replace the cream for 2 beaten egg whites (until it forms peaks), and add 1/2 cup confectioners sugar to it (instead of 1/4 cup that is supposed to be added to the cream). Add the vanilla as well. When you are done, fold it into the vanilla pudding and you'll have the perfect eclair filling that is creamy and absolutely divine. My second suggestion has to do with the chocolate glaze. What I got when following the recipe was hardly a glaze, it didn't stick to the eclair and was way too thick. So I added about two tablespoons of milk, 1/4 cup confectioners sugar, and 1 more ounce of chocolate. The glaze I made turned out perfect (and tasted amazing as well). Another suggestion, you should dip the top of the eclair into the chocolate before you cut it open. That way the chocolate is evenly spread over the top, instead of a gunky chocolate mess. Let the chocolate sit for a few minutes before you cut into it, I suggest even putting it into the freezer for a few minutes. That way, when you cut them in half, the chocolate won't get all over the place. All in all, this recipe was a slam dunk. The authenticity of these eclairs was certainly refreshing, and I can guarantee that I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Filippone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
For a very fancy presentation,I baked it in a bundt pan.Just slice in half and spoon filling in. Replace top of puff, and add chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
This is a very good recipe, but I made a few modifications: first, I used 1/8 cup conf. sugar and 1/8cup regular sugar in the filling; second, I piped the filling into the eclairs; third, instead of melting butter and choc, I melted choc in milk, and didn't need any water. And, because I piped the filling, I was able to dip the eclairs upside down in the chocolate. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
I have tried many of the eclairs on this site, and this is the best one yet! I would cut the filling in half, it always makes way too much - or if you make all of it, add some bananas and vanilla wafers to the rest and serve in individual dishes as banana pudding :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This recipe was great and so easy. It turns out just like a bakery eclair. You don't need to pipe the pastry onto the baking sheet, I jast used a tablespoon and I was very careful to make them 1 1/2 x 4 inches and they still turned out wonderful and very pretty. Just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
I love this recipe! My daughter and I make these often, and people sometimes don't belive they are homemade because they look so good. When we make them we make them smaller and fill them by using a pastry bag instead of cutting them in half, we also use the pastry bag to apply the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I tried the chocolate topping on a cream puff recipe and it was bitter and gross. The cream puff was delicious by itself. I can't recommend the topping to anyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
I did not actually make this recipe, but I used the chocolate icing from it in something else. If you're looking for a great chocolate icing, you can't do better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parsons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
The filling was divine. I thought the glaze was grainy. The pastry itself was very eggy for my tastes, but tasted much better on the the second day, once it was refrigerated. TIP: beat extremely well after each egg and DO NOT open your oven, cook for the ENTIRE time or your eclairs will fall flat. Also, if you are baking these on a cold day the shock of taking them out of the oven can cause the eclairs to fall. On my second batch I let them cool in the oven with the door open. I learned the hard way with my first batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendybird82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States