Eclairs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
The real deal! My husband doesn't have much of a sweet tooth but loves eclairs. He really enjoyed having these instead of a cake on his birthday. Tastes better than the bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
These are absolutely delicious! I have made them for several parties, showers, etc and am always asked what bakery I got them from. I follow the recipe exactly, with the only exception being finishing technique. I don't cut the tops off completely; instead I cut them like a sandwich roll, leaving one side attached. After the shells are filled, I dip the eclairs in the chocolate instead of drizzling it on top. Comes out amazing, with less wasted chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Over all the eclair, was easy and addicting to eat. It was a easy step-by-step instructions that my young daughter and I could follow. She claims its even better then the ones from the nearby bakery. Although I have to say the chocolate was clumpy and hard to spread. I added more water, but it seemed to do no good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Husband wanted eclairs for his birthday dessert so I decided to try my hand at making them from scratch. This recipe is quite easy, and they came out really well. It does require some time to get all the steps in. I followed others idea, and piped the filling in (used a ziplock bag). It was a messy job, but came out good once I got the hang of filling them up. The filling was light tasting and less heavy than a custard I am used to. My only complaint was the "frosting". It looked fine until I cooled it a bit to frost and then it became less smooth. Still it tasted great. If I can find a frosting I like better I may do that next time. Fun to make these! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
this is by far the best and an easy way to make Eclairs the only thing I did deferent was I added vanilla to the dough when I added the eggs and I use nutella for icing them it was veeeeeeery good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
These are wonderful. You can also use the pastry and fill them with shrimp or crab salad for a delightful brunch! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Thanks for a great recipe and after reading the reviews I too adjusted the amount of milk to 2 cups in filling and still had lots left. I wanted to pipe the filling but did not have a pastry bag/tips so used a turkey infuser- worked great- just filled thru both holes that I pierced to let steam out. Thanks to all for tips, i' m sure that led to my success
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I really liked the eclairs themselves. Except I made a mistake and scooped and shaped them with a spatula onto the baking sheet, rather than piped them so they came out very weirdly shaped. BUT, they still hollowed out perfectly and they tasted great! I followed earlier suggestions NOT to open the oven for the entire time until done and also to add the eggs carefully, only beating in one egg at a time. The chocolate icing on the other hand - worst recipe I have ever used. The icing dried up way too fast and wouldn't even stick to the eclairs on their own (I tried to dip them in the chocolate for easy application).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie monster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
my husband loved these so much he said they were better then store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
These eclairs were sensational! All of my siblings loved them. The only thing that I didn't like was the filling. Using pudding mix makes it really watery. So to make it more firm, make the filling a day before you make the eclairs. Trust me, it works. ~Baker101
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States