Eclairs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I make eclairs alot and for those who have a problem with the "shell"part not turning out....The recipe I have used for years (same ingredients and measurements for 12)calls for the ball of dough to cool for 5 mins. then beat in eggs one at a time. After putting on greased baking sheet; bake for 20-25 mins. at 400(golden brown), then cut a 1-inch long slit on side of each eclair. Reduce oven temp to 375 and bake for 10 more mins (this allows the inside to cook a little).Hope this helps. Try filling with BAVARIAN CREME FILLING: 1 1/2 C. chilled whipped cream; 1 pkg. (8 oz) cream cheese, softened; 2/3 C. brown sugar; 1 t. vanilla; 1/8 t. salt...In a chilled bowl, beat cream untill stiff. Blend remaining ingredients & fold in cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
My family went crazy about this recipe. It was delicious. My 8 year old grandson told me that he didn't want me to bake his birthday cake in Feb., he wanted these eclairs. Easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
Made the shells first because how they came out would determine if the whole recipe was worth making. Not to my surpirse did the shells come out like garbage. Way too much butter for such a dinky amount of flour. First off the amount would have made maybe 6 tiny tiny shells which are bit sized! Second the dough never becomes shell like but stays doughy and soft. Very gross to look at and tasted like oily un-cooked dough. Horrible recipe! And a waste of ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
Taste great. Just a reminder, beat eggs in with electric beaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I just made these today and theycame out perfect. The only thing was that the cook time for the shells was much longer for me, I divided the recipe into 10 eclairs and baked them for about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Well I'm perplexed. I tried this recipe because the positive reviews outweighed the negative ones. Unfortunately my experience was negative. I didn't want bite size eclairs so I made mine a little larger and baked them a few minutes longer. The dough turned out greasy and the centers were uncooked and eggy tasting. I wound up with 12 eclairs and enough filling for 12 more. I did give this two stars because at least they are edible. I'm an experienced baker but can't imagine what went wrong. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Loved the different filling. Made miniature eclairs with this recipe. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
Wonderful recipe. Everyone thought they were so delicious. However, they either have to be refrigerated or eaten within three days, as the filling will spoil and take on a bad flavor. (Found this out the hard way.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
These were great!!! I've never made eclairs before but they were delicious. They took about 2 hours to make but it was worth it! I made 11 big eclairs instead of 20 little ones. I would suggest making more chocolate topping though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
The filling is wonderful......but I had the problem with runny dough and of course it baked into a big pile of nothing. Beat the eggs in one by one like directed. If anyone could help me get the dough right I'd really like to try again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States