Eclairs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I made these french eclairs for my french class, and everybody loved it! I have to say, though, my first time making the eclairs, it was extremely time consuming. Also, my batter for the dough came out very liquidy and not very solid at all. i was not sure how the batter was supposed to look, so i just baked the eclairs as it was. unfortunately, the eclairs did not puff up. Also, i made way too much filling according to this recipe. The second time i made this however, i refridgerated the eclair dough and it came out solid, and puffed out just great! i have to say,although extremely time consuming and messy, the eclairs TASTED phenomenal. Another thing, though, about the filling, was that it took way too long to beat the cream until it was fluffy. i would suggest just buying some premade whipped cream if you are on a time crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I make eclairs alot and for those who have a problem with the "shell"part not turning out....The recipe I have used for years (same ingredients and measurements for 12)calls for the ball of dough to cool for 5 mins. then beat in eggs one at a time. After putting on greased baking sheet; bake for 20-25 mins. at 400(golden brown), then cut a 1-inch long slit on side of each eclair. Reduce oven temp to 375 and bake for 10 more mins (this allows the inside to cook a little).Hope this helps. Try filling with BAVARIAN CREME FILLING: 1 1/2 C. chilled whipped cream; 1 pkg. (8 oz) cream cheese, softened; 2/3 C. brown sugar; 1 t. vanilla; 1/8 t. salt...In a chilled bowl, beat cream untill stiff. Blend remaining ingredients & fold in cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Loved the different filling. Made miniature eclairs with this recipe. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Well I'm perplexed. I tried this recipe because the positive reviews outweighed the negative ones. Unfortunately my experience was negative. I didn't want bite size eclairs so I made mine a little larger and baked them a few minutes longer. The dough turned out greasy and the centers were uncooked and eggy tasting. I wound up with 12 eclairs and enough filling for 12 more. I did give this two stars because at least they are edible. I'm an experienced baker but can't imagine what went wrong. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
Wonderful recipe. Everyone thought they were so delicious. However, they either have to be refrigerated or eaten within three days, as the filling will spoil and take on a bad flavor. (Found this out the hard way.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
I have made these several times. I did not care for them too much, but I am not a big "Sweets" person. My husband loves them and requests them quite often. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
Taste great. Just a reminder, beat eggs in with electric beaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
I made these eclairs one morning, hoping for a nice treat for myself. What I got was something that tasted like an egg muffin. Why are we using 4 eggs for 1 cup of flour? I would not recommend this recipe to anyone, and I will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
Made the shells first because how they came out would determine if the whole recipe was worth making. Not to my surpirse did the shells come out like garbage. Way too much butter for such a dinky amount of flour. First off the amount would have made maybe 6 tiny tiny shells which are bit sized! Second the dough never becomes shell like but stays doughy and soft. Very gross to look at and tasted like oily un-cooked dough. Horrible recipe! And a waste of ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
These were great!!! I've never made eclairs before but they were delicious. They took about 2 hours to make but it was worth it! I made 11 big eclairs instead of 20 little ones. I would suggest making more chocolate topping though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States