Eclair Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
I first had this dessert in a restaurant and fell in love with it - this recipe tastes exactly like it! The only thing I'd change is to refrigerate it overnight and more importantly, make a super-easy homemade chocolate frosting: Mix 1/3 cup cocoa & 1 cup sugar in a saucepan and then add 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 cup butter & 1/4 cup milk. Boil for 1 minute, then set aside to cool. It makes a world of difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmergGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
I have made this many times and it is a family favorite. The only difference in my recipe is that I use Hot Fudge ice cream topping instead of the frosting. Wonderful stuff, never any left:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
It is easier to melt the icing in the microwave for 30 seconds then spread on top of the graham crackers and let the icing set. A good recipe quick and easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
Very good and easy to put together! I used hot fudge topping instead of frosting and sprinkled some nut topping on top that I had on hand. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I've made this cake before and love it, but I just have to say this. The suggestion to microwave the frosting for 15-30 seconds is a simple, yet genius idea. I don't make this recipe nearly as often as I like because it's incredibly difficult to frost graham crackers that are on a bed of pudding. Like, I want to poke out my eyeballs when I'm done, difficult. But the frosting softening makes it a snap, and I might be whipping this up a lot more often now. I love the eclair cake as is, but I also make a variation with chocolate Graham's, cheesecake pudding, and cheesecake frosting. Wowza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Silver Burnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
The family loved it,but me not as much....I'll definitely make it again for them. I too used French vanilla pudding and made a chocolate ganache instead of using canned frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Wow, simple and delicious. Make sure you use instant pudding and not the cook and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
A dessert that my husband loves, but was a little disappointed in the store bought chocolate frosting. Below the frosting was delicious and was even better the second day. I will make this again, only next time make a homemade chocolate icing for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
TOOK to work today for a lunch potluck and it WAS GONE in one hour !! I never made this before and I had to double this recipe. FIRST of all in case you DONT thaw the cool whip in the frig, no worries. I did not thaw in the frig I was in a hurry. I had 4 boxes of pudding - 2 banana and 2 French vanilla, cheap brands. I used 2% milk. 2 containers of STORE brand topping that looks like cool whip but I did use good gram crackers. I made in the large square aluminum pan i got from the 99 cent store. no spraying anything at the bottom I saw those on some recipes and why? your not baking anything. Anyway first thing i did was have the bags of crackers cut open and on a dish so that you have them ready to layer especially when the second layering starts. in a large bowl I dumped the 4 boxes of pudding, 6 cups of milk and dumped on top of all that the two containers of the FROZEN whipped topping. I used my mixer and had a nice thick mixture in 3 minutes. filled open spots with broken pieces. i used honey and cinnamon, my frosting was a blend of heated choc and vanilla. CHILLED covered with foil from 7pm to when I took to work chilled again until we had at noon and it was GONE and delicious !! I wonder what it will be like when I do thaw the cool whip ha-ha does not matter this is a FAIL PROOF recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This was really yummy however it reminded me more of a tiramisu just with less cake texture. I tried to healthify this, if you will, and used So Delicious whipped light coconut topping (lactose intolerant here), original almond milk light, 2 1oz packets of sugar free white chocolate, 1 1oz sugar free cheesecake and 1 3.5oz vanilla (I got a little creative with what I had on hand). I brought it in to my co-workers and they devoured it in one day, mind you we only have 5 of us in our office! I also took the advice from another user with the chocolate frosting and made it myself with the coco powder, butter, etc. I'm quite sure the original recipe is fabulous if It still tasted great with my revisions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 794) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Peach Cobbler Dump Cake I

An easy, peachy, dump cake ready in under an hour!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States