Eclair Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
My Family has been making this for years and years. One way to avoid having to refridgerate it over night is to lay each side of the graham cracker squares in milk for a few seconds until slightly soft, right before laying them on the cake. This keeps them moist and it's ready to serve right then. We used our own topping instead of the frosting: 3T Butter, 3T. Hot water, 3T Cocoa powder and about 1 and 1/2 cup powdered sugar (to desired thickness)Just pour over the top. This creates a thin layer of chocolate and makes it much more elegant in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
851 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
This dessert is awesome. I took the advice on another review and put the frosting in the microwave for 30 sec and just poured it over the top. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
370 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I'm giving this 4 stars b/c I thought it was ok, but my guests loved it. I had a version of this before that was absolutely delicious, but I don't think this recipe was as good. Part of it may be that it was barely fridged for 4 hours, so possibly if it had "sat" longer, it would've tasted better. I also used cinnamon graham crackers b/c that's all I had, and I personally didn't like the cinnamon flavor in the cake, but other people thought it was a great touch. I think some great variations would be to make it like tiramisu with some coffee flavoring, b/c overall it just tasted plain to me - sweet - but plain in flavor. The version I had eaten before had vanilla and chocolate layers. I may try that next time, maybe even add some coffee into the mix. UPDATE: I made a variation with chocolate graham crackers and Fat/sugar free cheesecake pudding w/ dark chocolate frosting. It was REALLY good. The tip to heat up the frosting is a must since it's SO much easier that way and you end up getting a nice smooth, shiny coating just like an eclair. Also, I would recommend making this in a big rectangular tupperware so that you can just snap the lid on top. I kept finding my saran wrap would "suction" itself to my frosting when I made it in a pan and not look as pretty. It's also essential to let the cake sit for at least overnight. This version sat for 2 days and the texture was just WAY better than the first one I made which barely sat for 4 hours as the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
347 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Anything this GOOD, easy, quick & inexpensive to make must be a sin!!! The only thing I changed was I made homemade milk choc. frosting. Will be making again!!! Made again, but in alOW FAT version using low fat grahm crackers, sugar free pudding, fat free cool whip, 2 Cups instead of 3 of skim milk & drizzled sugar free chocolate syrup for frosting. Still very good & great for people watching their weigh or diebetics
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This is wonderful. Took it to a knitting club and they loved it. I did make some changes. You can lighten it up. As some of the others suggest. I did do one vanilla and one cheesecake sugar and fat free pudding. I also used 1/2 can of Betty Crocker triple fudge and chocolate chip frosting. And I heated like they suggested in microwave. Had only a thin layer of chocolate. Wonderful. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
Excellent recipe! I made this for our annual family BBQ and everybody raved! It is too easy to make! I tried the tip from the previous review that suggested heating up the frosting before trying to put on the cake...it worked perfect! This is a keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Wow, this is so sinfully delicious! This was my second time making it, and I'm glad I did because the first one I made was not that great. My family and I thought the store-bought frosting I put on the first one was way too sweet, as well as way too much. Also, I used cheesecake flavored pudding on the first one and we didn't really care for that flavor either. This time I decided to use the vanilla flavor pudding (as per recipe) and make a chocolate ganache for the topping. OMG heaven!! I made it the night before to allow the flavors to set and took it to a potluck at work. Everyone was fighting over the leftovers & they all wanted the recipe. I cannot begin to describe how delicious this is for such a simple dessert (took less than 10 minutes to put together). I think the ganache is what really made the difference this time. (2/3 cup heavy whipping cream brought just to a boil, then pour over 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips...I used Ghirardelli, whisk until smooth and pour over cake. Then allow to refrigerate overnight to set.) You have to try this recipe...trust me, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
Very easy to make and tastes wonderful. I'll make this one again! Melting the frosting is the way to go...pour it on and then refrigerate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
Eclair cake is the best. I use my own home made frosting, better than anything out of a can. We also let it sit over night. It is better when the graham crackers get soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This recipe is an old favorite, so easy. The only thing I would suggust is to try dipping the graham crackers in amaretto liqueur. Helps soften crackers and cuts down on required waiting. Taste good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dkaye777

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 781) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States