Easy to Remember Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Excellent crust! Nice and flaky one of the best I have ever made :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I always forget the ratio and have to look up a recipie every time. Thanks for making it easy to remember!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monilou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Pudong, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This crust was very easy to make and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Super easy to remember with a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This is my go to pie crust recipe. I have had good results with butter as well as Earth Balance if I want it to be vegan. I found that keeping the butter kind of chunky yields the best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bias cut lamb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This is the same pie crust recipe that my mother passed to me and my sisters and she got it from way back to my great grandmother. I use butter flavored shortening for more flavor and just a pinch of salt. I use very cold water and drizzle it over the flour and butter to make sure I need the whole quarter cup. Very tasty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Super easy. I thought it would come out greasy, but it's just perfectly flakey. It's not a recipe to use if you want a very clean looking pie, though. It puffs up quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Even though I had to modify to make it the way I like, the easy formula still helps me memorize how I do this crust, therefore I gave 5 stars. I increased this recipe by 50% to make a thicker pie crust, with a little left over. I don't care for the crust recipes with egg and vinegar added, but I do add 1/2 t. baking powder and 1/4 t. salt. First time I used this recipe, I discovered this ratio of flour/shortening/water makes the dough a little stickier than I like. Next time I tried a little extra flour: 1 3/4 c. flour, 3/4 c. Crisco, and 3/8 c. ice cold water. Perfect! This makes a thick deep dish single layer pie crust, with only a couple tablespoons of extra dough left over from the edges. I rest the dough in the fridge for 10 minutes or so before I roll it out between two lightly floured sheets of wax paper. (Don't forget to prick the sides and bottom of the crust with a fork before you bake. Otherwise it balloons up and makes a mess.) Then I bake it for 12 minutes in a 425F oven. Great crust! Thanks Deirdre!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I am not sure what to say about this recipe. In appearance it was flaky. Rolling it out between plastic wrap was not too hard to roll (although not exactly easy either). I couldn't add all the water. In fact it didn't seem to need any water. Once I added the oil it went into a ball. However, I did add some water. Compared to what my mom used to make I would say this looked like it had too much oil in it. I noticed that the bottom crust never cooked no matter how long I left the cobbler in the oven. I am using the left overs again today but this time I am prebaking the crust before adding any filling so that I don't have the raw dough situation. I think overall this recipe just has too much oil. Not much taste other than oil either. It rolled ok but very easily fell apart in transfer process. Since all the reviews are so great, I will try again maybe adding the full amount of water and then more flour through the rolling process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
fabulous! I've made pie crust so many times, and never could get the hang of adding drops of ice water, this makes it so easy to remember and make. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Didi

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States