Easy to Remember Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Very good pie crust recipe, and it definitely deserves 5 stars for simplicity. It is a fantastic basic, all-purpose crust that is easy to modify to whatever recipe you need, and simple to double, triple, or augment to fit your particular dish. I have used it for savory pies, dessert pies, and cobblers with little problem. My only change is to use milk instead of water, and one can substitute butter or butter-flavored shortening with no problem. Remember though, if you substitute butter cut the water quantity by about 20% (so from 1/2 cup to 6 tbsp.) because butter contains water and shortening does not. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
mmmm mm!!! ive had horrible experiences with baking pies but this is so easy! at first i thought the dough would turn into a disaster (it was a little mushier than i had expected) so if you encounter the same problem, add half a cup of flour. also, DONT FORGET TO CHILL ALL THE INGREDIENTS for at least 20 minutes! it helps alot. to make the pie a nice golden color, smear on a little bit of milk (half a teaspoon) on the uncooked top crust for a nice touch. If you plan on making a double crust pie, dont forget to double the recipe like i almost did. a wonderful filling for this pie crust is Apple pie by grandma ople. this was the first time i ever made something big from scratch, and it was EASY AND DELICIOUS! also, dont forget to cut slits in the pie so it dosnt pop or overflow. hope i helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
The Best! Very easy & delicious. Don't know why the note against novices using it! Easy enough for a novice. I chilled the dough for 15 minutes before rolling out. Will definately use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I have finally found THE pie crust I've been searching for! It's as delicious as it is easy. It came out PERFECT and my whole family raved about it. I used it with "Terry's Favorite Chicken Pie" (this site) and we couldn't get enough. The only problem was I doubled the recipe to make two pies but only came out with enough for 1 1/2. Will start with 3 cups of flour next time. I used butter flavor Crisco and also added a pinch or two of salt. I wrapped it in plastic wrap and put it in the fridge to cool while I assembled my pie ingredients. The dough is more moist than most pie crust doughs so you will need to roll it out on a good dusting of flour. Thanks Deirdre Dee!! This is the only pie crust recipe I will EVER use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivertownMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adair County, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
This is the BEST pie crust. This pie crust formula will work out every time. This version only makes one crust, but to make more just multipy the ingredients by the number of crusts you would like. Remember ***You must always refrigerate pie dough before rolling*** Also if you are going to bake this as an empty shell, remember to use some alumisum foil or parchment and line it on top of the crust and fill it with beans, so that it will keep the crust in place while it bakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
i doubled this recipe & easily got 2 - 9" single crust pies. the dough is extremely soft but not hard to work with if you keep everything lightly floured (including your fingers). use ice water & chill the dough for at least 20 minutes before rolling out. thanks deirdre!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
OH MY GOODNESS!!! I have been trying for years (more than I like to remember) to make a pie crust. Everyone in my family of two sisters can make one but not me. Thank you, thank you, Deirdre! It was easy to make, easy to roll, to place in the pie plate. It was the most beautiful pie crust of all my family has made. I am so excited now I can make a pie!!!!!!!! Great recipe thank you again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Woodward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webster, New York, USA
Living In: Marion, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
Thought this was one of the best and easiest recipes for pie crust that I have tried. My son made it for his first forray into pastry making and loved it. And my husband thinks it is even better than his sister-in-laws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Lisbon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pardeeville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
This crust is pretty to look at but comes out greasy, as it calls for twice the shortening of most recipes I've used. The dough was also hard to work with and falls apart easily. You're better off with the Basic Flaky Pie Crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This is the best tasting, the easiest to make and the easiest to roll. I have tried many many other pie crust recipes and none of them even come close to being so simple and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States