Easy to Remember Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
Thought this was one of the best and easiest recipes for pie crust that I have tried. My son made it for his first forray into pastry making and loved it. And my husband thinks it is even better than his sister-in-laws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Lisbon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Pardeeville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
The Best! Very easy & delicious. Don't know why the note against novices using it! Easy enough for a novice. I chilled the dough for 15 minutes before rolling out. Will definately use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I have finally found THE pie crust I've been searching for! It's as delicious as it is easy. It came out PERFECT and my whole family raved about it. I used it with "Terry's Favorite Chicken Pie" (this site) and we couldn't get enough. The only problem was I doubled the recipe to make two pies but only came out with enough for 1 1/2. Will start with 3 cups of flour next time. I used butter flavor Crisco and also added a pinch or two of salt. I wrapped it in plastic wrap and put it in the fridge to cool while I assembled my pie ingredients. The dough is more moist than most pie crust doughs so you will need to roll it out on a good dusting of flour. Thanks Deirdre Dee!! This is the only pie crust recipe I will EVER use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivertownMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
mmmm mm!!! ive had horrible experiences with baking pies but this is so easy! at first i thought the dough would turn into a disaster (it was a little mushier than i had expected) so if you encounter the same problem, add half a cup of flour. also, DONT FORGET TO CHILL ALL THE INGREDIENTS for at least 20 minutes! it helps alot. to make the pie a nice golden color, smear on a little bit of milk (half a teaspoon) on the uncooked top crust for a nice touch. If you plan on making a double crust pie, dont forget to double the recipe like i almost did. a wonderful filling for this pie crust is Apple pie by grandma ople. this was the first time i ever made something big from scratch, and it was EASY AND DELICIOUS! also, dont forget to cut slits in the pie so it dosnt pop or overflow. hope i helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
Sorry, these just did not come out right and this is the first time pie crust ever failed on me (and I've made plenty)! It was easy to roll out, but when I tried to prebake the piecrust, it totally collasped on me (ruffle edges I made) while baking! It was unsavagable, so I had to trash it. I'm only giving it a 2 because I didn't taste it (benefit of doubt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
This is the BEST pie crust. This pie crust formula will work out every time. This version only makes one crust, but to make more just multipy the ingredients by the number of crusts you would like. Remember ***You must always refrigerate pie dough before rolling*** Also if you are going to bake this as an empty shell, remember to use some alumisum foil or parchment and line it on top of the crust and fill it with beans, so that it will keep the crust in place while it bakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
Thank you for a great recipe! I usually dislike the crusts on pies, but this one was delicious, not to mention simple. This was the first pie crust I have ever made too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
My family just love pies...this recipie won raves at the table. Can be used for main dishes as well as desserts. Thank you Deidre Dee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Nice flaky crust BUT my advice is to double the recipe. I messed up my first batch it was too gooey and after refrigerating it still did not help, so I made another one and could tell instantly the consistency was much better BUT when I went to roll it out there was not enough pie crust for one of my SMALL pie plates, at this point I was not about to make another one so I had a funny looking pecan pie! It tastes good just strange looking. Very good pie crust recipe just be sure to make extra!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
This is a great, easy, and versatile crust. Can't believe how well it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyscookin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States