Easy to Remember Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
An easy crust to make. Very flaky and tasty but, after sitting on a napkin, the crust left quite a bit of grease behind. As another reviewer suggested, I added 1/3-1/2 Cup flour to reduce moisture/stickiness. Also, I would add a bit of salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I thought this was a terrific recipe. I didn't use quite 1/4 cup of water, I just put it in a tablespoon at a time until it was the consistancy I thought it should be. This was the first time I've ever attempted to make a pie crust, or even a pie and I found it very simple and it turned out perfect. It was very nice and flaky! I agree with the others, even a Novice can make this crust with no trouble. Just be sure and use plenty of flour as you roll it out, it is just a little sticky, but tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya G Maynard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I used this for a pot pie. I thought it was very easy to make. i let it rest for a good 30 minutes before working with it. It was rather sticky and i had to make sure there was enough flour on the cutting board to keep it from sticking. It had a nice light taste to it. I plan on trying this crust for a thanksgiving pie i'm making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
WOW! This is the best pie crust I have ever made, tasted, seen and felt! I think that novice bakers can make this though. To make a reasonably sweet pie crust though, add 1-2 teaspoons of sugar to the mix. Great pie crust. Will definitely add this to my pie collection! Thanks Dierdree, you have solved all of my problems!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Screw the novice baker warning! I've never made pie crust, and have only recently started baking, and figured it out pretty easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is the recipe that my grandma has used for years. We usually add a pinch of salt, and I like butter flavored shortening. It doubles nicely for a two crust recipe (ie: apple or cherry)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra Carper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Sutherland, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Turns out every time, even doubles well. Sometimes I add a pinch of salt, and sometimes I chill the dough, but it always turns out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chazwaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
Great recipe! Simple, flaky, and delicious. Make sure you keep your ingredients cold, and you'll be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Besides being a pain to make, this crust tastes like nothing but shortning! I won't be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Only recipe I use now! It's flaky, easy to remember (don't even need the recipe), quick, and easy to make! It's also the recipe I've had the best luck with. TIP: stir and handle the dough as little as possible. After cutting in the shortening, I just form it into a thick patty and use the rolling pin to spread it out into a circle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States