Easy to Remember Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
i used this for a quiche crust. Easy recipe. Added a dash of salt and sugar to mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I have never made a pie crust before. The first batch came out terribly, but I think it was the flour I used. It was an organic pastry flour. I tried again and the next batch (made with AP flour) came out fine. I used a little more than 1/4 cup water. I then made one more batch for the top crust and it came out just fine. I baked the remaining scraps; they were flaky but bland, not at all greasy as someone said. As part of my blueberry pie, the crust was okay, but bland. The recipe was easy and worked. I only give it 4 stars because it lacked flavor... the rest of the pie had plenty of that to go around, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This is the perfect recipe for a beginner. I only made a pie crust because I was too lazy to go the store. Boy was this good. I used coconut oil that I put in the freeezer for a bit. Made it very solid. And replace a tablespoon of water with balsamic. So good. If I make a strawberry pie will do the same thing again, just add a bit of sugar. I also made it in food processor. I cut in the oil, and let it form the dough. This is a perfect recipe. (PS I have only made on pie crust before almost ten years ago.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Burny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I never knew how easy pie crust is to make! I am never going to buy one again. I am not a crust person when I eat pies but, this one is light and flakey very good. This is my second time using this recipe and both times came out great. I added 3 teaspoons of sugar and mixed it with the flour and used my fave apple pie recipe from this site sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I definitely don't agree with the part of the description that says it's not for novices! This was the easiest pie crust ever! I've never made a pie in my life from scratch, but I decided to try my hand at it for Christmas. I used this recipe for my apple pie, and it turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Searcy, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Despite the description, I felt this was a simple enough recipe even for someone just learning to bake. It is very easy, but it seemed like a little bit too much shortening, which is what I think causes it to turn dark brown too soon. The dough came out a bit too moist with the shortening and water, which made the crust stick to the pan after baking more than I would have liked. Yes, this is easy to remember, but I'd suggest remembering to add more flour, or subtract a little shortening, and the equation will make for better pies. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArbitraryCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Porter, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Very simple and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Easy and perfect...:) :) Love it! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaydell33
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
An easy crust to make. Very flaky and tasty but, after sitting on a napkin, the crust left quite a bit of grease behind. As another reviewer suggested, I added 1/3-1/2 Cup flour to reduce moisture/stickiness. Also, I would add a bit of salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States