Easy to Remember Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Makes a great pie crust. Definitely need to refrigerate before rolling out. I find its nice to make up a bunch, roll them out and then roll up on a piece of plastic wrap, place in a zip-lock bag and freeze until needed. Saves lots of time when needing a pie crust. Just pull out 30 minutes before you need it so it can defrost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
The dough came out resembling play dough type texture but rolled out and tasted ok.I can't make pie crust yet this was simple and easy.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
My high school science teacher taught me to bake pie. Just add salt and this is the recipe he used. If you are seeking the ultimate flakey crust you must use lard! Gross, I know, but as long as you are not serving vegetarians, just don't tell anyone. Allow time for the dough to chill and rolling will be easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I love this crust! I have done it a few times and have done two things - 1) lessened the water by just a bit and 2) chilled the shortening in the refrigerator for an hour before hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. It kept sticking. Followed recipe but didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Pies and Pie crusts are not my specialty, but this was the easiest pie crust I've ever made, very easy to roll out. The crust was flaky and light. This will now be my go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochdale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Southbridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Definitely easy to remember! Easy to make, as well. I used this crust as the crust for the Sour Cream Chicken Quiche on here. Very light and flaky. Just a note: I didn't end up using all of the water, when making pie crust--like bread dough--the humidity can affect the amount of liquids you need, so go slow and don't be afraid to use less or more water. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was awesome! The last time I made a pie I was so frustrated with the crust. I had visions of throwing it at the wall. This pie crust rolled out so nice and was awesome tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bricelyn, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Buffalo Center, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I'm not sure I understand why a novice shouldn't make this... because I thought it was very straight forward and easy. The only thing I didn't see, was directions on cooking~ which I had to guess at temperature and time. I used butter flavored Crisco and it turned out wonderful, maybe just a tad greasy... but really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflowerhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilburton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Antlers, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This was my first ever home made pie crust and it turned out perfect, very good and flaky! I will use this for all of my pies now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States