Easy to Remember Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This is the recipe that I've used for over 40 years, when I was first married, and I still think it's the best! I've tried other recipes that claim to be "the best" pie crust, but always come back to this simple one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I have been struggling to learn how to make a good crust and have tried (and failed) with several other recipes. This was very easy and worked beautifully! I added a little salt and used it for quiche. I might add 2T sugar instead and use it for a sweet pie. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I am a novice. It was easy. I have been baking pies for 4 years, using store bought pie crusts. I entered a pie contest at church, so I had to bake my own crust this time. It was easy! I woke up at 3:30 a.m. and followed directions. I used cold shortening and I used iced to get the water cold. I rolled it into a ball and wrapped it in plastic wrap before putting in the freezer for 30 minutes. I'm not sure if the freezer was a good idea or not, but the crust came out perfect! I surprised myself. It was very flaky and reminded me of my great grandmother's crust. I don't have a mixer and neither did my great grandma, I used my left hand to mix ingrediants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This really was the easiest and flakiest pie crust! I've been looking for a recipe like this. I added water until I got the right consistency and I didn't end up using a full 1/4 cup. I would suggest doing that instead of simply adding the water. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I was taught this recipe 25 yrs ago by a Navy Chef..so Easy..I use the Sugar in the dry flour and the salt I add to the water..We made this Recipe in Hugh Portions, as we were making 4-6 Cobblers and at least 6 pies each Day!! The BEST Recipe!! Former Boeing St. Louis Chef/Baker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I find that I like to add about a tsp of salt and a tsp of sugar for a little added flavor, but otherwise what an easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This is simple and so good!! I make everything myself but pie crust I never bothered with before until I found this recipe! Will be using it over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Yes, this is the recipe I used for years - when I used to cook! Haven't made a pie crust for a long time, I now use the refrigerated Pillsbury, but I used this formula for many years because it is easy to remember and pretty foolproof. I do add just a pinch or two of salt. And if it seems too wet, I just add a little more flour, and plenty of flour to roll it out. I don't even refrigerate first before rolling out. I once made 8 pies for Christmas using this exact recipe. Everybody always complimented me on my piecrust and this is the recipe I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Super easy!! Needs a pinch of salt. I live in Miami where it is always humid. I only needed to use 1/2 of the water. Perfect texture. Definitely will be my crust recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Easy, tasty, and makes an amazing shell for chicken pot pie. I substituted butter for the shortening, though. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States