Easy to Remember Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Awesome recipie! I used this as my very first pie attempt and it came out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Kilmon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Church Creek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Boiceville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Queen Llemon
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I am definitely a novice pastry maker, but this turned out perfectly! I followed the suggestions to chill for 20 minutes and it was easy to work with, nice and flaky when done. Thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Llemon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This was so simple. I didn't have butter but used margarine instead. I didn't have any problems with rolling at all as others have, and it wasn't fragile or greasy, also how others have suggested. I doubled it to make a top and bottom crust for the Sunday's apple pie recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holbrook, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This is the best tasting, the easiest to make and the easiest to roll. I have tried many many other pie crust recipes and none of them even come close to being so simple and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Easiest to remember, easiest to roll out, and best tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
OH MY GOODNESS!!! I have been trying for years (more than I like to remember) to make a pie crust. Everyone in my family of two sisters can make one but not me. Thank you, thank you, Deirdre! It was easy to make, easy to roll, to place in the pie plate. It was the most beautiful pie crust of all my family has made. I am so excited now I can make a pie!!!!!!!! Great recipe thank you again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Woodward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webster, New York, USA
Living In: Marion, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
excellent recipe. works every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Very good pie crust recipe, and it definitely deserves 5 stars for simplicity. It is a fantastic basic, all-purpose crust that is easy to modify to whatever recipe you need, and simple to double, triple, or augment to fit your particular dish. I have used it for savory pies, dessert pies, and cobblers with little problem. My only change is to use milk instead of water, and one can substitute butter or butter-flavored shortening with no problem. Remember though, if you substitute butter cut the water quantity by about 20% (so from 1/2 cup to 6 tbsp.) because butter contains water and shortening does not. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
This crust is pretty to look at but comes out greasy, as it calls for twice the shortening of most recipes I've used. The dough was also hard to work with and falls apart easily. You're better off with the Basic Flaky Pie Crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Very good considering how simple it was and the few ingredients it has. It's ready to roll after about 20 minutes in the refrigerator. It doesn't get any easier than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico

Displaying results 81-90 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States