Easy to Remember Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I used butter instead of shortening and It came our perfectly: flaky, buttery and delicious. Worked great on a blueberry/nectarine pie. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I've used a similar recipe for years. However, I also add a dash of salt and I always use butter flavored shortening. It really needs those additions for maximum flavor. Also, the colder the water, the flakier the crust. I also store it in the fridge for 10 or 15 minutes before rolling it out. This recipe never fails and makes excellent crust. Another note: this recipe will make a bottom crust only. Double it if you want a top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I really think that this needs some salt (1/2 teaspoon is perfect!), but it is simple, and very flaky. I made a double batch for a chicken pot pie, and was thrilled with the texture while rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I have a very similar recipe... Instead of shortening, take butter. Less calories, still tastes great! Works really well. Good idea, tho! Love the pic, DD! SK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Well, i made a Raspberry cream pie with this. The taste was ok, and i followed the directiosn exactly but there wasn't enough to fill even a shallow pie crust dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This pie crust was SUPER easy and VERY flaky and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
i used this for a quiche crust. Easy recipe. Added a dash of salt and sugar to mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I have never made a pie crust before. The first batch came out terribly, but I think it was the flour I used. It was an organic pastry flour. I tried again and the next batch (made with AP flour) came out fine. I used a little more than 1/4 cup water. I then made one more batch for the top crust and it came out just fine. I baked the remaining scraps; they were flaky but bland, not at all greasy as someone said. As part of my blueberry pie, the crust was okay, but bland. The recipe was easy and worked. I only give it 4 stars because it lacked flavor... the rest of the pie had plenty of that to go around, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This is the perfect recipe for a beginner. I only made a pie crust because I was too lazy to go the store. Boy was this good. I used coconut oil that I put in the freeezer for a bit. Made it very solid. And replace a tablespoon of water with balsamic. So good. If I make a strawberry pie will do the same thing again, just add a bit of sugar. I also made it in food processor. I cut in the oil, and let it form the dough. This is a perfect recipe. (PS I have only made on pie crust before almost ten years ago.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Burny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States